The Loudmouth Protestant

July 11, 2007

What Do You Mean I’m Not Saved?

According to Pope Benedict XVI all of the Protestants in the world are going to hell. How could that be? Well Ratzie has re-written the doctrine of the church–this pretty much justifies any church in existence. This re-write says that Christ established only “one church” on this earth. The grand prize of that title goes to the Roman Catholic church and the runner-up is the Orthodox church. The Catholic church is a “true” church because there is an apostolic succession that can be traced back to the Bible and the church teaches real truth and sanctification in addition to the many sacraments of the church. To a lesser extent the Orthodox church is a runner-up because it also enjoys an apostolic succession, sanctification and the teaching of the unadulterated truth. The only thing that makes the Orthodox church lag behind is the fact that they refuse to recognize the primacy of the Pope–for that I don’t blame them.

Now given all of the complex arguments that will go on because of this amendment to the doctrine, I have come to shine a little light on the situation. It is my prayer that Protestants who will read this news in the next few days will not lose heart in the faith and salvation that God has given them. Fortunately, Pope Benedict has no control over that–the grace of God. He can re-write doctrines until he turns blue but it won’t change the fact that the Protestant church and the servants who work within the church have–through the power of God–saved many souls. That work can’t be belittled because of one man who thinks he has all power in his hands.

Sure, he can re-write the doctrine of the church–this is a natural assignment, but he cannot re-write the fact that we all report to one God and God alone–and that is totally supernatural. Pope Benedict obviously has no idea of the plans that God has in store for his good and faithful servants in the Protestant church, the Catholic church and the Orthodox church. Clearly none of us do or else we’d be further along.

I know that the release of this news doesn’t change a thing about my standing in God. It’s true, the Protestant church is faulty but then again there is not a single perfect church in this world. And as many preachers would say, “If there is a perfect church, it became unperfect the day you walked in because you are not a perfect being.” In my opinion, the “church” as it stands is actually more of a manmade construct for the meeting of organized religion than a sacred space. It has been tainted by its leaders and its membership so it no longer retains it reliability. The real church is inside of us and it only follows the doctrine of God, our heavenly father. I

So I leave you with this one thought. I have transposed its original meaning which was intended to address divorces and marriages but I believe it holds true for the discussion at hand…Mark 10:9 says “Let no one split apart what God has joined together.” Try to re-write that…

10 Comments »

  1. Loudmouth, if that’s your real name, I couldn’t agree with you more. I’m not a big fan of the pope. So he has very little, actually, he has no credibility with me.

    I think people think church and religion mean the same thing. To a certain extent they can. (eg. someone’s religion can be church, which may not have nothing to do with God or Christ.) But the church is all of His saints, regardless of denomination, church affiliation, liturgy or government. The church is inside of us, true, and it is also us. The early church was the fellowship of the BELIEVERS, not some assembly in an old building. The church transcends buildings and borders because it is all believers everywhere.

    As you suggest, we believers are the one church God created. So, in a sense, Big Poppa is right.

    Comment by Jay — July 11, 2007 @ 10:32 pm | Reply

  2. Let the Pope tell me the stories of the popes in the Middle Ages and then talk about the Apostolic Succession with a straight face.

    Comment by renaissanceguy — August 16, 2007 @ 5:36 am | Reply

  3. I would like to start by saying that the Catholic (universal) is infact a perfect thing. The people who run, and direct the Catholic church are by no means perfect, but the Catholic church in its essence meaning its doctrines and dogmas(beliefs) are perfect. Jesus Christ founded the Catholic Church when he renamed the apostle Peter “Rock” in Mathew 16:18 Catholic (true) translation, and then went on to say that upon this “Rock I will build my church. Peter was the first Pope in the succession of Popes that you refer to, you cannot question this fact. Jesus only founded one church, the Roman Catholic Church, and to think that it was his wish for future churches to fight about who is right and wrong is absurd. One has to be the correct church, and i would be willing to bet money that the true church was the one that christ founded with the apostle Peter and the other apostles. Why would you want to be part of a church that a man founded when you could be apart of a church that christ founded. This is the question that i propose to you. If you were part of the Catholic church that christ founded then you would not fear Pope Benedicts revelations. A book that will provide you with a complete proof to Peter and The catholic Church being the one that Christ Founded is
    “Upon this Rock” written by Stephen K. Ray Published by Ignatius Press. Please research because knowledge is key, and then respond.

    Comment by Bryan Parshall — August 26, 2007 @ 11:35 pm | Reply

  4. Interesting points Bryan, I’m not sure I believe that Christ founded the Catholic church, but since I am a reader and advocate of doing the appropriate research I will take a gander at “Upon this Rock.” But before I even start to read it, I have to make the statement that there exist no perfect church on this earth–Catholic or otherwise.

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — August 28, 2007 @ 2:20 pm | Reply

  5. Bryan, way to represent I believe everything that he said and everything the Pope says. Why? because when the Pope speaks for the Church he is infallible. In other words the Church is perfect. So the Pope in my opinion is right in what he did with the entire Protestant problem.

    Comment by Ace the Catholic Through and through til the end — September 4, 2007 @ 11:47 pm | Reply

  6. Personally, I’m somewhere in-between both churches. My family is Catholic so I attend a Catholic church, but I attented a Protestant school for 9 years of my life. The way I see it, the goals that these churches are after are exactly what Christ wants, but the way we often go around doing it isn’t. For example the Crusades and forced confessions. It’s true, God wants us to spread his word, but you cannot justify the Catholic church murdering tens of thousands of people in the Crusades because it is ‘The Will of God.’ Also, you cannot torture someone to confess their sins and then execute them right afterwards so their soul will ‘go to Heaven’ like the Catholic church did in the middle ages. If you think this is right, please enlighten me as to why.

    Anyway, nowadays these churches are very similar in their beliefs. We both believe in God, the Father, Jesus Christ, his son, and the Holy Spirit. We both pray and worship the same God for the same reasons. We both read and believe the Bible. We both fall under the category ‘Christianity.’ To say that _____ go to heaven and _____ go to hell is completely absurd. Our God is a kind and loving God. And honestly, when we are cruel or disrespectful to the other religion, all we are doing is going against God’s will.

    Comment by Chris — January 6, 2008 @ 2:47 pm | Reply

  7. God have mercy on the souls of all who are willing to cast the first stone. As a Lutheran Christian, belonging to the whole catholic (little c) church on earth, I am appalled at the behavior of all sides. God’s Word is the only truth and to profess otherwise is against Jesus Christ himself. It is a complete shame that Protestants and Catholics have no relationship with one another because it was Christ himself that commended us to love one another as we are loved by Him. For the rest of you who have forgotten, that means unconditionally.

    Comment by Pamela — January 25, 2008 @ 8:29 pm | Reply

  8. I hate to burst your bubble, but Jesus Christ established one church, his church, using the human named Peter. Now, if you don’t read your Bible; and, don’t understand Scripture, then I believe that you should attend a bible study class so as to be able to understand what Scriture clearly stated. Additionally, when Jeses said, “Eat my body, drink my blood” he meant it. If people had thought he was speaking figuratively, then why did people say, “did he say eat his body and drink his blood?” And, if they didn’t really understand what he meant, then why did they leave him. Why did Jesus say to his apostle will you also leave me? Scripture is very clear on what we have to do and not do. It is the typical human who acts like an animal and try to convince other human being that their way is the right way. In this instance, Jesus was very clear in his meaning. Not only that, the Apostle were also in line with Jesus’ meaning. The Apostle have never contradicted each other. If you don’t believe me, then read it.

    Comment by tkach — April 9, 2008 @ 3:46 pm | Reply

  9. Well tkach, you haven’t bursted my bubble. As I stated in the post, none of what Pope Benedict is suggesting takes away from the salvation that was given to me through Jesus Christ. You can’t take that away from me. I am well aware of the scripture. I am also aware that in Ephesians 4, we are called to be unified in the body. “There is one body, one Spirit. Just as you have been called to one glorious hope for the future. There is one Lord, one faith, one baptism, and one God and Father, who is over all and in all and living through all.” There is one God and Father, who is over all and in all and living through all. So, if anyone is to question whether I am truly saved, whether I am going to hell, whether the Protestant church is the true church, it’s going to be God. Not a single human being can dissuade me of the fact that I serve a God who will render his judgement unto the people and I serve a God who is a protector of the righteous. So thanks for attempting to burst my bubble. I am as confident in my faith as I was before I received word from you. I report to God, not the Pope. Be Blessed.

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — April 9, 2008 @ 7:06 pm | Reply

  10. “On this rock I will build my church”-Jesus
    What rock? Could it be Peter. “Get behind me Satan!” I don’t think so. It’s Peter’s confession that Jesus was the Messiah the Son of the Living God. Maybe ya’ll should think for yourselves instead of letting some guy with a funny hat brainwash you with his wizards wand. Furthermore, I missed it in my bible when Christ said I will establish a man to rule with absolute authority and infallibilty in my sted. I did however read:

    “Let no one deceive you in any way. For that day will not come, unless the rebellion comes first, and the man of lawlessness is revealed, the son of destruction, who opposes and exalts himself against every so-called god or object of worship, so that he takes his seat in the temple of God, proclaiming himself to be God.” II Thessalonians 2:3-4

    As the church is the temple of God, I wonder who has claimed infallibity so as to rewrite doctrines…

    Comment by John — May 9, 2008 @ 3:57 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

