The Loudmouth Protestant

July 17, 2007

Consider the Cost…

Filed under: Uncategorized — nickisym @ 4:41 am

Luke 14:28 (NLV): But don’t begin until you count the cost. For who would begin construction of a building without first calculating the cost to see if there is enough money to finish it?

This was Jesus’ instruction to the great crowd that was following him. He asked them to consider the great cost of being a disciple. This also reminds me of being called to be a bridesmaid/groomsmen unto a friend.

When I received the assignment to serve my dearest friend as a maid of honor, I recognized that it was bigger than wearing a pretty dress and taking pictures–bigger than wearing a cross and being seen at church. I realized that it is about giving of myself to honor her–making sacrifices of praise and giving of my fruit. It’s the tangible expression of my love for a friendship that God gave me.

I knew that being her maid-of-honor wasn’t going to be a walk in the park–nor is the Christian walk. But I am so thankful for the experience because I am being blessed with an opportunity to bear witness to the greatest day in her life, which I hope will be an experience she can share with me when my time comes.

So to all of those out there struggling with the calling of your bridesmaid-ness or your groomsmen-ness–or your Christianity, consider this an opportunity to pay it forward. Go into this assignment with as much seriousness as you would with giving an offering unto God, after all, this is the friend that he blessed you with so do your service with excellence.

And before you answer the call, whether it is to a be a member of the wedding party, a disciple, a minister, etc…Consider the cost before you answer the call because if you neglect to do so, the pain for doing so will be innumerable…

1 Comment »

  1. This is a profoundly insightful consideration. I never thought of it that way. Thank you for sharing.

    Comment by Jay — July 18, 2007 @ 7:15 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

