The Loudmouth Protestant

July 18, 2007

Faith is Bigger than Bling

Filed under: cross,crucifix,faith,Lydia Playfoot,purity ring — nickisym @ 2:50 pm

A London schoolgirl by the name of Lydia Playfoot has lost the case that was set against her for wearing jewelry to school. Lydia’s school bans the wearing of any jewelry but she believes that she should be exempt from the law because her ring represents her dedication to purity–read no sex before marriage–as a Christian teenager.

A statement by Lydia reads: “I believe that the judge’s decision will mean that slowly, over time, people such as school governors, employers, political organizations and others will be allowed to stop Christians from publicly expressing and practicing their faith.”

Now someone please stop me if I am wrong, but I don’t believe that Lydia should be raising a stink because they won’t allow her to wear her purity ring to school, and you know why? I can’t remember an edict in Bible that says the wearing of crucifixes, purity rings and chastity garments proves our faith is valid and has more efficacy when we are wearing said accessories than we aren’t.

I have a problem with the fact that people use their jewelry as a crutch and as their identifier to the world that they are part of the body of Christ, particularly because many wear crosses around their neck but have no idea what it really means to “take up their cross daily.” The same people don’t drink in moderation, have premarital sex, curse like sailors, covet, kill, idolize, etc, etc.

The wearing of faith-based jewelry cannot firm up your salvation or stop you from committing sins and it really shouldn’t be a point of contention for any Christian who believes that if someone told them to take it off, it will stop them from publicly expressing their faith. Public expression of faith is as simple as letting the spirit direct you in all you do. Letting God order your steps is the true public expression of faith.

Faith is not expressed by the clothes you wear–“Jesus is My Homeboy” will not make you a believable Christian. Faith is expressed by living a pure life. The Bible says in James 2:20 that “Faith without good deeds is useless.” My understanding of this is that our faith–which comes through Jesus Christ–is also validated by the good deeds that we do. It is firmed up by feeding the poor and giving unto widows, comforting the afflicted and doing good deeds unto mankind. It is not by wearing jewelry.

I Peter 2:13 says “For the Lord’s sake, respect all human authority–whether the king as head of state, or the officials he has appointed.” That makes it pretty clear to me that the school officials telling Lydia she couldn’t wear her purity ring–just as no student can wear any jewelry–means that she should respect the law that has been set forth and not rebel against it. Lydia must know that she loses no portion of her faith because she has to take the ring off. It’s not as though if she takes the ring off she will fall into a downward spiral of sin and premarital sex–but I guess she could if she believes she will lose power by not wearing it during school hours. I understand the concept of the ring as a reminder but she–and everyone else who wears jewelry with spiritual connotation–must be careful not attempt to use it as religion.

I leave you with this last scripture, which is so apropos: “That the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold that perishes, though it is tested by fire, may be found to praise, honor, and glory at the revelation of Jesus Christ.” (1 Peter 1:7)

I write this because I want Lydia and her ilk to know that her faith will endure despite her having to take her ring off. You will lose nothing–nor gain anything–by taking off your diamond encrusted cross or your ruby-studded Jesus piece. If God intended the wearing of jewelry to be the prime way to distinguish Christians from their worldly counterparts, then I guess there’d be a whole bunch of people without an identity.

Life goes on without the cross around your neck, but it will stop the moment you forget about the symbolic cross you are to take up daily. Don’t become an idol to your accessory.

6 Comments »

  1. ‘I have a problem with the fact that people use their jewelry as a crutch and as their identifier to the world that they are part of the body of Christ, particularly because many wear crosses around their neck but have no idea what it really means to “take up their cross daily.”’

    I agree with you in principle. Our faith should not be measured by our jewelry. I wear no jewelry. That does not make me he of little faith.

    But, I think Lydia and her purity ring is a slightly different situation. I think her purity ring is analogous to a wedding ring. They are both symbols of holy covenants. For Lydia, who is probably a babe in Christ, her purity ring is a reminder of to whom she is committed. Everytime she looks at or feels her ring, she is reminded to choose purity over debauchery. Each time she choses purity because of the symbolic significance of the ring, she is practicing her faith.

    Also, if I was in her situation, I’d want to show my faith by taking a stand against the school, whom I’d perceive to be attacking my faith. I agree that she should obey her school authorities. But I think she should stand up for what she believes is right. I think it takes courage for a young woman to stand up for Christ, in school. That should be commended, in my opinion.

    Now that she can’t wear the ring to school on her finger, maybe she be creative and wear it around her neck as a charm. Or, she could get one fitted for her toe. If I was her, I’d find a way to wear it. As long as she’s doing it to glorify Christ, it’s ok with me.

    Comment by Jay — July 19, 2007 @ 3:00 am | Reply

  2. Yes, but at the same time, is her putting up a stink about not being able to wear this ring, when she was knowingly breaking a rule, edifying for the body of Christ? Are we not supposed to walk and talk in humility, love, and peace? By all means, wear the ring as a reminder of your commitment to Christ and purity. So wear it when you go to a party and you’re in the presence of drugs and alcohol. (Although, why are you at the party in the first place?) Or wear it when you go out on a date, etc. How much is her purity being tested in school? Especially a school where you can’t wear jewelry…

    Comment by Tarani — July 19, 2007 @ 7:12 pm | Reply

  3. I would venture a guess that she could be asked on a date or offered drugs and/or alcohol by the people she goes to school with.

    As for knowingly breaking a rule, I don’t believe that rules are made to be broken. I do believe that some rules serve no constructive purpose, so they may be challenged. I don’t understand the purpose behind the no jewelry rule. And if there is a legitimate purpose, does a purity ring really undermine the purpose of the rule?

    Comment by Jay — July 21, 2007 @ 12:38 pm | Reply

  4. I believe that you are not defined by your jewelry. But, wearing Christian jewelry is by no means a bad thing. There is nothing wrong with expressing your faith through a cross ring or a fish necklace. If anything, it will give you an opportunity to talk about the Lord with others.

    Comment by Jeri — April 18, 2008 @ 2:50 am | Reply

  5. I think wearing of jewels and fancying ourself is not entertained in the bible anywhere.the adornment of the true child of God is her divinity.GOD’S WORD CLEARLY EXHORTS HOLY WOMEN TO AVOID WEARING GOLD,FANCY HAIR STYLES,EXPENSIVE CLOTHES ETC.,(1 PETER 3:3-5).After all, we are people who are going to walk on the streets of gold in heaven and i think there is no need of this earthly jewels here.once GOD told a sister ,”my child ,I have made enough holes on your head for your needs(ears,mouth,nostrils,etc.,) If i had wanted you to wear earings,I would have made holes for that also”.This helped her to make a stand for GOD.and friends we all know JESUS was bruised for us so much,and remembering the cross everyday and the pains of my JESUS even today because of my sins I don’t feel like wearing jewels. LET US STAND UP FOR CHRIST AS A PECULIAR PEOPLE ZEALOUS OF GODLY WORKS .May god bless each one of us abundantly.

    Comment by joice steffi.y — June 24, 2008 @ 1:26 pm | Reply

  6. Some “christians” have Jesus and purity only in their words…
    Do not be fooled by their hypocrisy…
    Glory to Jesus and Mary.

    Comment by John — July 27, 2009 @ 10:21 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

