The Loudmouth Protestant

July 18, 2007

The God of This World

Filed under: Uncategorized — nickisym @ 4:22 am

Harry Potter

I know that 2 Corinthians 4:4 states the satan is the god of this world and I believed that was very true up until a couple of weeks ago when Harry Potter-mania started. I am fully convinced–and I say this with fear that I will be burned alive for doing so–that J.K. Rowling is the god of this world. All people can talk about is her and this last Harry Potter book and how this is daily affecting their lives. The Seven Deadly Hallows this, Horcrux that, Snape this and Lily that. People are talking about how they will end their lives if Harry dies–there goes the theory that Harry Potter is Christ-like. People are planning to seclude themselves to read the book. I even overheard someone trying to plot how to get the book on it’s release date which falls on Shabbat–the Jewish sabbath. Is it that serious?

Now let me be clear. I don’t dislike Harry Potter for the same reasons as most fundamentalist Christians who believe Potter and his friends dabble in witchcraft. I haven’t even bothered to take the time to pick up a book to find out if HP is something I could like. I simply don’t like the fantasy genre of books. That means no HP, no Lord of the Rings, not even “The Lion, The Witch and Wardrobe” though I might be more prone to read the latter because C.S. Lewis is one of my favorite Christian writers.

Plain and simple, I’m not interested in Harry Potter. If it wasn’t for God keeping me in my right mind, I would print out the leaked copies of the book and leave it in taxi cabs, on subway seats, tape it to lightposts, leave the ending as a comment on people’s Myspace pages and write on the first page of every book in the city of NY how the book ends.

But clearly I don’t have time for all of that. Actually I have wasted a considerable amount of time talking about the book and its ills that have strayed away from my original purpose–the devil is a liar–for writing this post so let me cut to the chase.

J.K. Rowling is finally using her evil for good…Just kidding, but really she is using the release of the final Potter book to draw attention to the 3-year-old missing British girl, Madeline McCann, who disappeared from her parent’s hotel room on May 3, 2007. Check out what she’s doing. This is really an effort I must applaud Rowling for. Actually I applaud every single person that donated money to aid the search, every celebrity including David Beckham, who used his famous face to shed light on the crime and I really do hope they find Madeline.

2 Comments »

  1. Find Madeline!

    I’m not a HP fan. I’ve never read the books. But I have this thing where I try not to follow things just because everyone else is into it. I figure, if EVERYONE likes it, there must be something wrong with it.

    I liked Return of the King. I liked The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. I think the most egregious thing in both of them was that they depicted some sourcery. But they weren’t stories about a wizard in training, like HP.

    But, for anyone who hasn’t already done so, read the Left Behind series. I highly recommend the books. I’ve read 16 of the 17 books. Alot of story lines. Definitely Christ centered. and good action. Good stuff!

    Comment by Jay — July 18, 2007 @ 7:24 am | Reply

  2. I like HP. I’m not die-hard. I don’t spend much time talking about them. Book 7 will probably be the only book I read in a timely manner to which it comes out since it’s the last one. I read books 1-4 over the course of a few weeks in 2004. And I read books 5 and 6 this past year during breaks, etc. They’re good reads and entertaining. But I understand where you’re coming from about how much this is affecting people’s lives unnecessarily…it’s fiction for goodness sake. But I would not say it’s any more “sinful” than the time and energy we devote to certain t.v. shows, celebrities, or other trends…

    Comment by Tarani — July 19, 2007 @ 7:29 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

