The Loudmouth Protestant

July 20, 2007

WW_D?

Filed under: Uncategorized — nickisym @ 4:34 am

So usually there is a “J” in that blank to signify “What Would Jesus Do?” That age old abbreviation–well as age old as mid-90s can get–that people who still rock the bracelets ask themselves and to a greater extent, something Christians try to consider as they go through their daily lives.

But, I came to the realization that other people’s name can be substituted for Jesus. I don’t mean other people can take the place of Jesus, but I mean we all know people that we admire and that we could pattern some portions of our behavior after. I have plenty of friends that I admire to the point of wondering how they would navigate particular situations.

For instance, I find that I ride the same train, walk to the same building and jump on the same elevator with the same people everyday. But my flesh is not interested in exchanging pleasantries. Is it right? Probably not. But’s it’s not in my nature to just introduce myself to people I don’t know from a can of paint. That’s when I think of a friend who is very jovial and is able to make friends in a snap. She is like a walking Dale Carnegie book–“How to Win Friends and Influence People”– but in a totally organic way. Coincidentally her name starts with the letter “J” so WWJD would work.

Or take the fact that I consider myself a boisterous individual and sometimes I would like to calm down because it seems fitting for a lady of my stature to be prim and proper instead of goofy and giggly. I then think about a friend who never has a hair out of place, dresses rather well and is always very ladylike–consistently.

Really, I have a bunch of friends that I’d borrow little things from and I don’t say this because I am dissatisfied with who I am. I’m not. I just want to honor the friends that really have imparted into my life. It has been said that of the people you know–especially your pastors and spiritual leaders, you should desire an impartation of their spirit. Who has imparted into your life?

2 Comments »

  1. How sweet! 🙂 I also think we need to be careful about how much we borrow from other people lest we lose the sense of who we truly are. I’ve had friends in the past who “borrowed” things from me that it came off fabricated and inauthentic to who they truly are. Achieving that balance of appreciating who we are as God intended and appreciating that we are who we are because of the people that feed into our lives, so placed by God is one of – if not the most fulfilling journeys…

    Comment by Tarani — July 20, 2007 @ 2:48 pm | Reply

  2. Nice blog!

    I think you bring up some excellent points. You highlight the reasons why God did not put us in this race called “life” alone.

    I think the wisest of us learn from each other, and pull from each other strengths. Why be friends with the smartest kid in class if you can’t learn a lil something from him? The strengths God gives us are to be used to help one another. Take notice, and be blessed by the gifts God has given each of us.

    I’m sure you, Loud Mouth Protestant, have many gifts that have blessed and encouraged others to become a better them. This blog is your platform to influence peoples lives..and you’re doing just that.

    I’m thinking.. WWLMPD? niceee…

    Comment by Zayne — July 25, 2007 @ 4:17 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

