The Loudmouth Protestant

August 29, 2007

Seasons Come…

Filed under: death — nickisym @ 5:28 am

Seasons go…

So the scripture goes and so does one of my favorite songs by gospel recording artist Donald Lawrence entitled “Go Get Your Life Back.” After a longtime of forgetting I even had the song on my iPod, I listened to it on a whim yesterday while in transit. Since then I haven’t been able to get that refrain out of my head and now I know why…

This evening I received news from a friend that a college friend of ours was killed about two weeks ago leaving behind two kids and a grieving family. Upon receiving this news I was absolutely stunned. Although it had been over 5 years since I’d spoken to this man, the news hit me like I just spoke to him yesterday.

I could recall the days that he spent telling me about his hopes and dreams for a better future than the present he was living. I remember his spirit, it was an interesting one. One that most people would disregard in a heartbeat–I know because I was tempted to disregard him on more than one occasion but I didn’t.

Though we established good rapport and a friendship, our communication was cut short when he moved back to his home city to support family. I had never spoken to him again after Spring 2002 and every now and then I thought of him, how he is doing and where he is…

I just can’t believe how quickly time changes things between people. Just like that his life was taken away for reasons unbeknownst to me. But honestly and truly I feel the pain of this loss like he was one of my dearest friends because he was a young black man and we don’t have but so many to lose.

So now my heart and my prayers go out to his family. And now I know how I can aptly place “Go Get Your Life Back,” because after they finish grieving his death that is exactly what they will have to do. The song says that “Go get your life back, everything the enemy stole from you.” It then continues with “for these trials come to make you strong.” And I hope that this trial will come to make his family strong, his children strong and every single person he ever met stronger people all willing to live everyday as if it were the last.

Rest In Peace…

4 Comments »

  1. In 2004, a college friend of mine died in a car accident. One of my best friends from my neighborhood was his roommate in college. We all went to the same school. He was from the same part of town, but a different neighborhood. We all got along. He lasted one semester at my school, but he continued with his studies. After I graduated, he worked near where I lived. We often crossed paths and chatted for a few minutes. We would see eacthother in the neighborhood. We would bumped into eachother at social gathering ansd what have you.

    In 2002, we’d be at my best friend’s house because we’d (8 of us) meet house to watch football on Sunday afternoons. We had alot of laughs and lively discussions. D often had everyone crackin’ up. He was a funny guy. He has a weird, nasally, high pitched voice, with a distinct queens accent. But he was the coolest of us all. As someone said, and I concurred, he even made wearing glasses cool.

    One of our mutual friends, actually, “D’s” best friend Aaron, had been recently saved around that time. So the religion discussion always emerged. “D” made it painfully clear that he did NOT believe in Christ. D, who’s faith was handed down to him from his father, was some distinct, ritualistic, organization (for lack of a better word.) Although they talked about God, it was not bible based or of God. That would be the fuel on the fire of the discussion. It always hurts me to hear him, or anyone for that matter, boldly and flatly reject Christ.

    D, and three of his friends crashed on their way home from a party in 2004. The driver and another survived, D, 26, and his younger friend didn’t.

    At the funeral, many many many people came out, several people spoke, including his best friend, Aaron. Aaron is a strong personality. He’s average height but he’s a solid dude. It took all of his strength to keep his composure. I think what pained him the most was knowing that his best friend was gone for eternity. Because he plainly rejected Christm D was done. Aaron, wrestling with the issue (and he didn’t come out and say it but I heard him “say” it) of his best friend being lost forever. He leaned on Rev 3:20-Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will dine with him, and he with Me. Aaron was hoping against hope that he would see his friend again, despite his rejection of Christ. I guess Aaron wanted God to see D’s effort to be set apart. Although he didn’t confess Jesus Christ, he sought something. In other words, Just was knocking on the door. He hoped for D’s sake, D answered eventhough D didn’t invite him.

    For me, that drove home the point that it’s real in the field and that it’s real when someone is lost. That’s why it’s important that we share Christ (which I struggle with) and lean on God. At the end of the day, it’s His life now because we’ve surrendered it to Him.

    Comment by Jay — August 31, 2007 @ 3:26 am | Reply

  2. Thanks for sharing that story. I really wish I would have been able to share Christ with my friend at that time, but I didn’t really have him in my heart the way I should have. But now I am glad that I can pray that God meets him wherever he may be. And you know what “D” might not be gone forever…We can only hope but I’d like to think he might be seen again despite what we think we know about where non-believers go in the afterlife–God is still sovereign.

    Comment by TLP — August 31, 2007 @ 1:51 pm | Reply

  3. Jay, check out this quote I just found–well it’s for work: “Some people, sweet and attractive, and strong and healthy, happen to die young. They are masters in disguise teaching us about impermanence.” –Dalai Lama

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — August 31, 2007 @ 2:32 pm | Reply

  4. That’s deep! Thanks.

    Comment by Jay — August 31, 2007 @ 7:32 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

