The Loudmouth Protestant

August 31, 2007

The Fashion God(s)

Filed under: God,simplicity — nickisym @ 1:55 am

This evening I decided to take a break from my usual esoteric reading in favor of busting open my New York magazine “The Fashion Issue.” Some may find it surprising–or not–but I love September for what it delivers in regards to fashion. The biggest issues of my favorite magazines come out, the best clothes for the fall come off the runway and into my favorite stores and millions of women around the country think about how they are going to change their look for the coming season. I am definitely a part of that lot.

Pre-Jamaica, I had big plans to “track” myself up, buy a new face, several beautiful pencil skirts, form-fitting tops and a pair of amazing shoes. Needless to say if you read my Rastafari post, my mind is in a different place.

But as I went through the New York magazine I flipped through the advertisements to land on one captivating ad by Burberry. It was a black and white picture of three woman and a man standing in a line, all clad in various Burberry pieces from the fall collection with Vogue looks. I stared at the ad for about 2 minutes because I couldn’t believe how amazing they looked. Most might not take a second look but I was taken a back by their immaculate presentation. It harkened back to the lovely feelings I had for last fall’s Balenciaga coat.

Nevertheless, looking at that ad ignited something in me again and made me kind of consider who I am this fall. Sure, I have this new consciousness, but how will that state of mind guide my style in the season to come. Will I enhance my current wardrobe with a new purse, shoes and accesories? Will I buy a few choice pieces for the fall? Or will I decline to be involved with fall fashion? Today, I had an opportunity to invest a little–and I do mean little–in my wardrobe at a sample sale. I managed to pick up about 6 pieces ranging from LaRok shorts to a long grey lace dress that was in desperate need of a slip and I settled on 2 pieces–the LaRok tan shorts and the grey lace dress…But as I inched toward the register I took a good look at both items and first put the shorts back because they did nothing for my figure and then put the lace dress down because I knew I had nowhere to wear it.

So I gathered at the end of my pseudo-shopping excursion that my focus this fall was going to be on simplicity. Simplicity for simplicities sake. Living simply so that others may simply live. I’ll be honest that it’s a difficult concept to master and execute, but I’m going to strive toward this.

Here’s to good stewardship.

3 Comments »

  1. Amen to stewardship. I’m not a big shopper. But I can spend too much when I’m impulsed. I have a big bag of clothes trying to walk out the door to good will. I’m trying to “streamline” my wardrobe. That includes getting rid of the stuff I bought but didnt really need. It also includes an attempt to streamline my look. im not gonna buy some slim fits and sag ’em but ill try to wear stuff that fits me, not my dad.

    Comment by Jay — August 31, 2007 @ 3:53 am | Reply

  2. I agree with you whole-heartedly. I too have a bag waiting to go to Goodwill–or Beacon’s Closet. But I am trying to streamline my wardrobe and get rid of clothes I’ve been rocking since undergrad or even worse, since 11th grade in high school. It gives me less to work with, but it’s okay because I’ll just be working with the best of what I have instead of keeping things to have an overabundance of clothes. As my old Public Speaking teacher use to say “Fake it Till You Make It {Scholars}.” And please, don’t ever buy mantyhose aka slim fits…

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — August 31, 2007 @ 1:56 pm | Reply

  3. lol, no mantyhose for me.

    Comment by Jay — August 31, 2007 @ 7:28 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

