The Loudmouth Protestant

September 9, 2007

Don’t Rush To The Store

Filed under: entertainment,God — nickisym @ 10:24 pm

After listening to both of my pastors make remarks about Kanye (Conway) West and 50 Cent, I realized that there is something wrong with this whole Gorilla v. Teddy Bear scenario. It dawned on me–and I promise I had this revelation before Kanye’s comment on the VMAs–this whole thing is a huge marketing scheme. And it goes a little something like this:

Record executives from both labels got together to figure out how they can capitalize off of the negro powerhouses and they figured it out. Here is how I envision the conversation going:

“We will pit them against each other in a faux battle created to get people hyped up about the release of the album to increase sales on both sides. We’ll tell 50 to tell the world that if Kanye outsells him he will retire so that his fans will use that as a catalyst to purchase more albums in the first week to boost the Soundscan numbers. Then we’ll let Kanye be his usual cocky self making no real promises to anyone but continuing to stay true to his “You Can’t Tell Me Nothing” personality. We’ll get them to appear on magazine covers together, award shows and even maybe do a diss record or two all so we can send our kids to college and keep their kids addicted to meaningless music.”

So there you have it folks. It’s not even about Kanye and 50 trying to make money for themselves–they might think this is the case. It’s all about the record executives and shareholders making money off the backs of two slaves to the flesh.

A few days ago I just knew that on 9/11 I would be purchasing Kanye’s CD so that I could help put 50 out of business, but now I am not interested in rushing to the store because this is all a shameless ploy to make millionaires more millions while the rest of us eke out a living doing relevant work.

Given all of this, I’ll be waiting a few weeks to get the album since I need my money more than Kanye needs it and more importantly, there’s no reason for me to rush to get a CD full of lyrics that aren’t glorifying to God. I highly doubt that it will bless the souls of the saints, so why not spend 9/11 in meditation about deeper things–remember this is the first 9/11 anniversary falling on a Tuesday that exact calendar day of the attack.

1 Comment »

  1. Don’t forget about Cartier West and $0.50.

    Anyway, didn’t Mr. Lynch [allegedly] say, “In my bag, I have a fool proof method for controlling your slaves. I guarantee everyone of you that if installed it will control the slaves for at least three hundred years. My method is simple, any member of your family or any OVERSEER can use it.” He [allegedly] wrote this “on the bank of the James River in the year of our lord, one thousand seven hundred and twelve.”

    That means we only got 5 years left! Then we free, y’all!

    Giviss us flee! Giviss us flee! Giviss us flee!

    Comment by Jay — September 11, 2007 @ 1:02 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

