The Loudmouth Protestant

September 17, 2007

Why He Came, Why You Are Here

Filed under: christianity,God,Jesus,life — nickisym @ 11:17 pm

Today as I was listening Da T.R.U.T.H’s latest CD with a close ear he said something that made my jaw drop. On “Every Day” he says:

“You were designed for doing more than chasing a check.”

Now it’s not that I didn’t already know that but hearing it voiced so passionately made me stop and think about how I am spending my time. It’s true, my purpose on this earth is bigger than a paycheck and bigger than even the job I have that I believe helps me to fulfill a God-given purpose. There’s something more that I am supposed to do here and I kind of know I’m not doing it yet.

I let that thought ride out for the rest of the day and then headed over to Bible study where I heard this:

“Did he hang up there on a cross, stretched out with legs trying to hold on for dear life so that we could spend 16 hours a day trying to figure out how we are going to pay the bills. Did he die so that we could live a life of sacrifice and delayed gratification?”

I almost don’t know what to say about this. To be delivered such a strong message twice in one day is a lot to take in. But I had to share it with you all.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

