The Loudmouth Protestant

September 26, 2007

Still No Myron But…

Filed under: Uncategorized — nickisym @ 6:56 pm

essentialhez.jpg

Today I was still thinking about Myron’s Butler’s CD. Since my original post on the topic I have not ventured out to search for the CD since then, but today I was thinking about getting a replacement. The last time I looked for Myron I ran into Izzy. I’ve been thinking about Izzy since then because he looks like he makes good music, but then I was side-tracked…

As I sat at a colleague’s desk learning yet another thing to add to my list of things, my eyes locked with two CDs on her desk. One was the “Essential Fred Hammond” and the other was “The Essential Hezekiah Walker.”

“Jackpot!” I thought to myself. This is a God-send. I was anxious to tell her how much I desired these CDs but I bit my tongue until our business was complete. Once done I jumped at the chance to mention the two discs and she jumped at the chance to let me borrow them for a moment in time.

“Oh joy!” It was like Christmas come early. I was more excited about Fred than Hezekiah but for some reason I decided to listen to Hezekiah first. Once I heard the first song it was clear that God was up to something. I couldn’t stop swaying, bopping, smiling and praising him–all with limited movement and inaudible noise.

This two-disc set is the best thing since sliced bread and the greatest thing is, I had no idea I knew most of the songs. You see, I am a late bloomer in the gospel music department so of course Hezzie–as I now call him–was a perfect stranger. But thanks to many a Sunday at the cathedral, I can say that I am very familiar with his music.

Who would have thought that on this very ordinary day that in an extraordinary way God would bless me this way? Here I thought I’d have to troll around town looking for new music and it was right there within reach the whole time.

So if you are looking for some new music, check out The Essential Hezekiah Walker. I’ll let you know about Essential Fred later after the wheels fall off of Hezzie.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

