The Loudmouth Protestant

September 30, 2007

A Call to Prayer

Filed under: God,Islam,Muslim,prayer — nickisym @ 10:02 pm

Yesterday evening I was in the area known as–at least to me–as Little Islam. Like many “Littles” in major cities, it is an area concentrated with merchants that sell goods intrinsic to the culture. For this area, hijabs, burkas, abayas, incense, uncut oils, dates, foodstuffs and other products were the de riguer. This isn’t the first time I walked through the area, but on this day it had different meaning.

As I walked through this “Little,” I heard something hauntingly beautiful. It started out as a mere jumble of words that I heard about every 45 seconds and I couldn’t get it out of my head. As the chant–formally called adhan–continued, I saw people shutting down shop and running toward the call. Suddenly I stopped, turned around and started to walk toward the ahdan.

After walking a couple of inches I found the place from which the ahdan originated. It was a mosque set into the Brooklyn landscape. It was a “blink and you miss it” edifice but the people that needed to find it would know exactly where to go. I stood in front of the mosque while the muadhin–the person responsible for the adhan–chanted, I was entranced.

I was amazed because of the amazing ways God shows himself to me and lets me know what I need to do. You see, what I picked up from that moment is that God indeed calls us to pray during times other than our normal morning and evening prayers but we aren’t always listening. He wants us to pray more and maybe it doesn’t mean you increase the number of times you pray in a day but you can increase the amount of time you spend in one prayer.

To bring it back to the faith, this morning a pastor preached from II Chronicles 7:14: “If my people, who are called by my name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.” He [the pastor] said that we must do our part by humbling ourselves, pray and seek God’s face.

So we must do our part. How will you?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

