The Loudmouth Protestant

October 2, 2007

A Clueless Moment

Filed under: God,life,randomness — nickisym @ 9:59 pm
Tags:

This morning on my way to one of my favorite cupcake bakeries I was nearly robbed.

It was about 9:25AM on the Jay Street-Borough Hall platform in Brooklyn and I was feeling a touch flustered. First and foremost because I felt like my outfit for the day was out of season and though it was cool outside the subway platform was a sweltering 85 degrees.

As I was trying to calm my nerves a man approached me with wildness in his eyes. The minute he came within my space my heart began to beat rapidly. It was like my body went into flight or fight mode and it was preparing for the worst. He was asking me for a dollar and though I had a dollar, my hands could not loosen the tight grip they had on my purse. He must have asked me about 10 times and each time he got progressively louder and drew closer to me.

For every time he asked me, I thought about the fact that I had the money but was scared to reach into my bag to give it to him. As he continued to ask me–this is beyond the 10th time–I walked backwards toward the front of the train platform. He was walking along with me yelling and almost grasping at my purse.

Finally my defense mechanism kicked in and I told him to get away from me. “Please get away from me,” I asked. As if this was going to stop him, he found it even more of a challenge to follow me as if to mock me. Around the 20th time of his asking me for a dollar–which he said he needed to buy some water–he walked away, but not before calling me a few choice words which God deafened my ears to.

I have never felt so scared in my life. I have never felt that close to being violated nor have I ever denied a beggar money when I knew I had it. Even as I recount the story, my heart is beating fast and my eyes are tearing up. All I can say is “Thank you God for keeping me safe from harm.”

1 Comment »

  1. Wow. Glad you didn’t get hurt. But next time, do this move.
    Stomp his foot with one of your feet.
    Knee him with the other. As he’s cowering in pain, jam your palm up his chin and bring your finger forward to gouge his eyes.
    Something I learned in a defense class once. Haven’t used it yet though. AND I may have the order wrong….
    But it just occurred to me that you probably wouldn’t do anything violent. If not, next time tell him you are about to throw up and start acting like you really are.

    Comment by Arm Jerker J. — October 5, 2007 @ 2:56 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

