The Loudmouth Protestant

October 10, 2007

Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

I always wonder “What do I look like to other people?” Because when I look in the mirror it doesn’t always translate that I am beautiful. I have this scar, that zit, discoloration, jacked up eyebrows, and the list goes on. My hair is too thin, too short. I have a pudge, a bulge in the wrong place, my thighs are too big–what are tree trunks? Do I look bloated in this? Do I look fat in this? Too young? Too old?

As you can see there are a multitude of questions that a woman can ask herself within the first half an hour of waking up or a half an hour before going to sleep. All of these are questions I ask myself at least once a week if not once a day.

I am a simple girl, so I prefer not to wear makeup, I prefer not to use a lot of additives–although I will on occasion. But at the end of the day I understand that “Ain’t nothing like the real thing, baby.” Yet and still it is hard for a girl to walk out triumphantly with the skin she is in and the hair she was given–by God–without feeling like she doesn’t cut it.

But flip-flopping arguments aside, I came to the realization just a few days ago that beauty is in the eye of the beholder and that beholder is my creator. A very close friend likes to quote the scripture “I am fearfully and wonderfully created,” and I believe that I will start to take that to heart.

You see without the makeup, the weave, the heels and the figure-flattering clothes, I am already “fearfully and wonderfully created.” The world contrived the word “fly” to define a woman who is so beautifully put together that one can’t deny it–it makes you want to bite your finger and say “uhh.” But God said that before you even get dressed in the morning you are fearfully and wonderfully made. It empowers me as I type it to think upon God’s love for us, his creation.

Man, woman, boy or girl, “you are fearfully and wonderfully made.” Fat, skinny, tall short, “you are fearfully and wonderfully made.” Black, white, yellow, red, “you are fearfully and wonderfully made. Long hair, short hair, no hair at all, you are fearfully and wonderfully made.” Crystal clear skin or blemished, “you are fearfully and wonderfully made.” I think that you get the point now–I think I get the point now too.

I just want you to remember how beautiful you are. I want you to be able to get up from your desk, your bed or your Blackberry and go to the next mirror and say “You are fearfully and wonderfully made.” And if not one person on this earth tells you you are beautiful, always remember that God believes you are every single day of your waking life because he created you that way. As an old country mother would say “God don’t make no junk.”

2 Comments »

  1. Amen

    Comment by Jay — October 14, 2007 @ 2:47 am | Reply

  2. Thank you so much for writing this. I think every woman asks these questions at least once if not a million times in their lifetime. I know for me, this is exactly what I have been going through; and you’re right, I need to wake up and say that I AM FEARFULLY AND WONDERFULLY MADE!

    God Bless You

    Comment by Bethany — February 14, 2009 @ 11:54 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

