The Loudmouth Protestant

October 12, 2007

Life Imitating Art…

Filed under: randomness,recent news — nickisym @ 10:03 am
Tags: ,

I’ll admit it. I am a fan of horror movies. I love to be scared, to an extent. There are some things that I just can’t deal with as it pertains to horror and being scared, number one with a bullet on the list is Halloween. The thought of people running around in my world with scary ghoulish costumes makes me want to crawl into a dark corner and hide–most of the times I just take the day off to escape it all. So you see, I like to have control over being scared. I want the ability to turn it off. Running away from it isn’t nearly as attractive as being able to turn it off completely and return to my normally scheduled program. Nevertheless…

This morning I read a disturbing story on CNN.com about an aspiring horror novelist who is suspected–I don’t know why they suspect and don’t just call him guilty–of dismembering his girlfriend.  Parts of her body were discovered in his closet, fridge and inside a cereal box. He even admitted to boiling her flesh but he said he didn’t eat it–did he think the charges wouldn’t be as bad if he didn’t eat her flesh after he boiled it which means he had to cut her up to fit it into a pot?

Anyways, I always wondered what was in the mind of horror novelists and it’s not to say that all horror writers are like this, but you have to wonder what type of personal life they have to write such dark, gruesome, macarbre material. I guess you could also wonder what kind of person watches these films, so I guess I can’t speculate or judge too much.

Read the whole story about the writer…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

