The Loudmouth Protestant

October 13, 2007

The “Get a Life” Ministry

Filed under: christians,church,entertainment,life,ministry — nickisym @ 12:25 am
Tags:

A few weeks ago my young adult pastor told a crowd at Friday night Bible study to get a life. He didn’t mean in the, “go get lit and party your life away” kind of time that some people believe makes a life. He told us that we spend so much time in the church serving that we ignore our lives outside of it. It’s true and I have been guilty of it–until I realized that I was a top offender and I issued a cease and desist order on packing my schedule tightly with church commitments–any commitment for that matter.

But bigger than leaving the comforts of the church, I am just determined to enjoy life in this big city while I am here–in the midst of being involved in ministry. Considering that, I have instituted the “Get a Life” ministry. It’s a ministry I will sow into every so often that supports my dining at great restaurants, catching a Broadway–or off–play, dance performance or art exhibit, going to the movies, treating myself to something nice, etcetera, etcetera.

Do you want to know the most important rule of the “Get a Life” ministry? That you do it by any means necessary and that means that you might have to do it by yourself. I have lived in this city for five years and I realize I have missed out on some opportunities because I was waiting around for other people. Don’t get me wrong, I love the company of others and in some instances I prefer it. But I am also realizing the value of being able to go alone and have a good time. It turns out, dinner for one isn’t that daunting and catching a movie solo is easier when you are dealing with crowded theatres–there’s always room for one.

But beyond solo femininity–or masculinity–just learn how to grab life by the horns and enjoy it. Just go out and get a life.

2 Comments »

  1. i spend a good amount of my “life” in music and book stores window shopping. i learn quite a bit listening to cd samples or reading a chapter or two in the bookstore.

    for people who have jobs and/or redeem bottles and cans, you can also check out free concerts at local universities (NYU, New School, etc.) Time Out is also a good resource. they sometimes have a free issue near nyu that tells of all the low cost events in the city.

    st. peters church has jazz vesper svcs on sunday afternoons.

    theres plenty to do in the city…

    Comment by Jay — October 14, 2007 @ 2:31 am | Reply

  2. Thanks for the tip on the free TONY issue. I get a lot of good tips from New York magazine too. I would definitely love to chrck out St. Peter’s Church Jass Vespers service, can you send me info on that? Gracias.

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — October 15, 2007 @ 11:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

