The Loudmouth Protestant

October 16, 2007

“On God: An Uncommon Conversation”

I know, I know, I said that I was going to put down the books, but I can’t help it. I’m addicted. But I believe I will stay faithful to this book because it is incredibly interesting. “Which book has won my affections,” you ask. Why the very latest from, Norman Mailer entitled “On God” An Uncommon Conversation.” In the book Mailer has a conversation with emeritus vice president of Wilkes University and fellow writer Michael Lennon. Lennon seeks to discover Mailer’s thoughts on God, the Devil and humanity. I’m just starting out, but here are some bold-faced moments in the book for me thus far:

On reincarnation:

“I have a joke to tell at this point: I die and go up before the Monitoring Angel. He says, “Oh, Mr. Mailer, we’re so glad to see you. We’ve been waiting. Now, tell us–we ask everyone this–what would be your idea of a proper reincarnation for yourself? What would you like to be in your next life?”

I say, “Well, you know, everything considered, I think I’d like to be a black athelete. I won’t argue with where you position me at birth–it can be under poor, ugly circumstances, I’m willing to take that on–but I would like to be a black athlete.”

Stay tuned in the coming days as I draw comparisons to Mailer’s “On God: An Uncommon Conversation” and Neale Donald Walsch’s “Conversations with God: An Uncommon Dialogue.”

1 Comment »

  1. Sounds like a good read. I’ve added it to my list. Thanks 🙂

    Comment by shivya — August 13, 2008 @ 2:16 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

