The Loudmouth Protestant

October 16, 2007

Revisiting Jill

Filed under: christians,entertainment,music — nickisym @ 11:47 pm
Tags:

A few weeks ago, I posted about Jill Scott’s latest CD “The Real Thing: Words and Sounds” Volume 3. My thoughts then were that I wasn’t really ready to hear the softer side of Jill. Actually I had heard the softer side of Jill on her previous albums, but I wasn’t really ready to hear the freakier side of Jill per the insert in the disc case that warned of selections that were erotic in nature.

Days after I proclaimed my fears of listening to the CD, I finally gave it a whirl. As suspected my ears were assaulted and my mind was experiencing a bit of imagery overload, so I had to return the CD back to its case. But today, I heard a song play on the radio called “My Love.” It reminded me of “Words and Sounds” Volume 1. It had the slinky bassline of “Getting in the Way” with the intent of “Honey Molasses.” I understood where she was going with the music this time around–and maybe I felt a little bit of her spirit because I just saw Tyler Perry’s “Why Did I Get Married?” over the weekend.

Nevertheless, I gave the album another whirl tonight and it actually wasn’t as bad as I initially thought. Today I appreciated the album because I realized that Jill has come into her own as an artist and a woman. It seems that on this album she is allowing herself to be beautifully human, truly vulnerable and clearly transparent. There is a certain sense of maturation that has taken place between her last album–I am sure that going through a divorce has a little something to do with it. But I know it isn’t the divorce that makes the woman, Jill was fully grown before any of it went down.

Long story short, I love the CD. I makes me feel some kind of way–a good way, not suggestive or questionable. It makes me feel like an adult who can make a decision to listen to something but not let it lord over or consume me. Granted, I know that some single Christians who might pick up this CD will not be able to deny the sensual overtones of her music so I still believe it’s appropriate to say “Listener Disecretion Is Advised.” Listen at your own risk–with the lights on in a room by yourself–maybe it would also help if you don’t have a significant other, an ex or a crush…

5 Comments »

  1. Firstly, I want to say that I have only heard Jill’s new album once.

    When I first heard the album I was in a friend’s car and was suprised by what I called a ‘dimmer’ sound than what I had heard before from Jill. Hearing reports of her finding it hard to perform the material on the new ablum, and even breaking down fueled this perspective. Seeing her on Oprah and witnessing her visible fighting back tears on many occasions was another moment that said to me ‘there is a lot of pain in this album’. I once interviewed Jill, right after she got married, and she shared some intimate details of the ceremony feeling like “a baptism” and crying tears of joy with her husband in the limo after the wedding. Having seen her delight and felt it with her as she radiated with it, seeing her in this new stage brought my heart to empathize with those who have gone through divorce.

    I think that your observation that she is “allowing herself to be beautifully human, truly vulnerable and clearly transparent” is insightful and well put.

    Your warning at the end, “maybe it would also help if you don’t have a significant other, an ex or a crush” made me smile as that covers almost everyone in the world that is not married. And I think there is some truth to your statement.

    An album like Jill’s latest is open, honest and real. It is poetry, because it conveys what so many people experience in a way that very few could say, and even fewer could sing it. With that said, listening to it and learning from it, and listening to it regularly are two different things. Listen to it, without it ‘lording’ over you, and learn from it – for sure. As for me, there are a lot of expressions that I have learned from that I would not listen to regularly. This is definately an album made in the midst of a very difficult transition. I have prayed and trust I that Jill is moving through this – it is apparent that she is. I am excited about hearing what she finds along the way and what she has to offer when she has reached a place of healing and reconciliation.

    Comment by Chris — October 17, 2007 @ 11:43 pm | Reply

  2. Chris what an insightful comment. That must have been an amazing interview. It’s so interesting that this album has much pain on it because I don’t clearly see that pain in the midst of all the pleasure she is conveying–with the exception of “How It Make You Feel” and “My Love.” Actually now that I think of it, I can see how it would be painful to perform these songs if Lyzel is indeed the man in question in the music. I guess my warning did block out a great number of people, it was all I could do to protect people–and myself. I think it is so interesting that there is no parental advisory sticker on the album which would result in minors purchasing the album and hearing things that aren’t necessarily savory. Do you think this is telling to the kind of person she wants to be seen as? Like thinking that is a stigma to selling music that requires a warning on the outside of the CD.

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — October 17, 2007 @ 11:56 pm | Reply

  3. After reading both you(loudmouthprotestant and Chris) emails, I venture to say that Jill’s newest release is a little steamy. I recently watched an interview she did,(I don’t remember w/whom)but she stated that she’d hope parents would be careful of what they let their children listen to. That her newest release is not for them. So eventhough there may not be an visible labeling on her CD, she has recognized the content is more than a child can handle.

    Comment by Stacey — October 18, 2007 @ 11:59 am | Reply

  4. For the point about the parental advisory sticker, that is interesting. I wonder if it fell under the radar or if the content does not meet the requirements for such a warning? Usually it’s swearing and violence that earns that black and white parental advisory. Regardless, I am sure she would not want such a sticker pasted on her album covers.

    Comment by Chris — November 1, 2007 @ 12:58 am | Reply

  5. I am feeling “Insomnia.” Yes, we praise God for what we HAVE and what is TO COME but we must also praise Him for what we have been DELIVERED FROM!!! The song reminds me of why He is THE Savior…He saves us from DYSFUNCTION. I remember being there (where Jill is on this song) and I am SOOOOO happy that I am no longer there. . . .I can do a praise dance over the memories that come to my mind as I listen to this song. God is REAL!!!

    Comment by Harlem Esquire — November 4, 2007 @ 3:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

