The Loudmouth Protestant

October 23, 2007

Horror-Bull

Filed under: entertainment,God — nickisym @ 10:51 pm
Tags: , , ,

For as long as I can remember I have been a fan of horror movies. Jason, Freddy and Michael. Vampires, Werewolves and Frankenstein. And of course paranormal beings which can’t so easily be classified by name. If you put it on a big screen, I will watch it. I never saw anything wrong with watching these kinds of movies until today.

I had this change in my mind about taking a certain kind of entertainment in. It was at a very trying hour that I said to myself and to God that I need to make better choices about what I do with my time. What I listen to, what I watch and what I read is a big part of that. I’ve been asking God to help me make decisions that are pleasing in his sight. I want him to help me understand what pleases him.

Just as quickly as I let the thought out is as quickly as he would zone in on my love of horror movies as an area that I need to clean up. As I’ve been contemplating the affects of watching these kinds of movies continously one thing has resonated within me about it.

Supporting the devil’s ministry.

You think that’s taking it a bit too far? I am thinking it might not be far enough. Take for example Rob Zombie’s “Halloween” Our support of this movie on opening night is a statement. Zombie allegedly worships satan. I say allegedly because it is not official information but many of his concert performances are dark in nature and they bid concert-goers to “worship satan.” Given this, I guess you can’t call his love for the darkness unofficial. Nevertheless, you put your hard-earned money–which is by the way God’s money–into the pockets of a man that gives glory to Satan and everything that doesn’t glorify God. If Zombie worships Satan how many more of his movie-making colleagues do you think worship Satan? Better yet, it may not be about Satan but you know from the movies content that it isn’t God. How does one justify supporting something like that?

So considering all of this, I believe it is time for me to take a hiatus if not entirely resign from watching horror movies. I know this is all conceptually heavy, but I also know that if all of this was put into my spirit that it was clearly not for nothing. I’m still trying to do a bit of research on how horror movies, ghosts and the paranormal fit into the Christianity, so as I get some info, I’ll pass it along.

1 Comment »

  1. […] pm Tags: christianity today, horror movies, scott derrickson As a continuation to my post about horror movies, I found this bit of information written by arts pastor, W. David O. Taylor on Christianity Today […]

    Pingback by On Horror: A Pastor’s Thoughts « The Loudmouth Protestant — October 24, 2007 @ 8:48 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

