The Loudmouth Protestant

October 23, 2007

Things We Lost in the Fire…

Filed under: God,recent news — nickisym @ 1:56 pm
Tags: ,

Today as I read the news about the wildfires spreading across Southern California I thought about something…It seems very strange to me that the weekend the fires started would be the same weekend that a movie entitled “Things We Lost in the Fire” would come out in theaters.  Even stranger is the fact that the movie stars two very well-known actors who would usually draw the big box office dollars but the movie didn’t even make it into the weekend’s top 10.

Now some of you may say, it’s not that deep, it’s purely coincidental and probably a product of bad marketing. But there is something about the existence of this movie that has me on edge. Though it seems the movie has nothing to do with an actual fire–or maybe it does. I take the title to mean “how do you recover after the fire has consumed all that you have?” “How do you rise from the ashes and move on with your life?”

In considering that, I think of the residents of California who are going through the fire right now. They are in shelters and may not be very hopeful but I pray that they will keep the faith. I know that this is one of the times when people’s faith in God wanes. They wonder, “Why would such an all-powerful God bring this disaster upon us?” I wish I had an answer to the question because I too would like to know. But in the meantime, I will do what I know how to do, pray.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

