The Loudmouth Protestant

November 4, 2007

Let It Go…

Filed under: christianity,christians,God,life — nickisym @ 9:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

Sometimes I am convinced that I attract the most precarious situations by my mere existence. Case in point, I was at my favorite place to be on a Sunday–second to church–Trader Joe’s.

I was stocking up on necessities for the week and the most important of them all are TJ’s Broccolli Florets. These are a hot commodity in the store so it isn’t always that I can walk into the store and pick up a bag. But today was my lucky day and so when I saw the bags, I internally jumped for joy and externally reached to get a bag. I was so overjoyed to get the bag but just like most times of joy in our lives there is always someone close at hand around to try to steal it.

Once I placed my brocolli in the cart a man standing on a ladder says indignantly “Oh excuse me, maybe I should move out of your way. Hmmph, maybe I should just move, I mean…” After that I don’t know what he said because I blocked him out. I was disgusted at his behavior because he was standing on a ladder talking with his coworker as he stocked the shelves above the freezer. Neither ladder was obstructing anyone’s way to the frozen goods and in all honestly I don’t believe that I was wrong for my actions. It wasn’t as if it was two people standing there talking and I just brazenly stepped in between their conversation to get my broccolli. He was high on a ladder and I wasn’t really figuring that he’d say anything to me.

He continued to speak to me from his perch with extreme attitude and looked at me as if I should issue him a huge apology. At the very moment I was in too much shock and the only words I murmurred were that “I am not even going to say a word.” and I walked away. My blood was boiling but in the midst of it I kept on reciting “Let it Go.” And I also thought of a song that ministers to me at times when people with ignorant spirits try to get a rise out of me. I thought I’d share the lyrics. It is off of J. Moss’s sophomore album “V2″ and it is called…”Let it Go.”

One day I was driving in my car and I wanna change lanes
I’m looking in my rearview mirror and see a black Range do the same
Turn my blinker on
Start to make my turn
But he goes before me, and now who’s wrong?
But I let the brother go on
I begin to thank God—I’m glad this man didn’t hit my ride
You see I’m thinking it’s done but I catch him from the side of my eye
And if I don’t move my head
I know that I’d be dead
Dead over lane changing—what could make a man so angry?

Let it go, let it go
Stop all this fussin
Stop all of this cussin
Stop being abusive like some of this music
Let it go, let it go
Stop all of this cheatin’
Stop all of this creepin’
Cuz once you start believing
You won’t be defeated

One day I was diggin’ this girl but I wanna stay saved
I got a wife and kid I love at home and they both share my last name
But looking at them thighs was like a twinkle in my eye
I kissed her, she kissed me, and now who’s wrong and losing their home
If I do it one time what really would the consequences be?
I let a 30-minute night kill a life-long dream and my family
Now she’s got that baby
Saying what have you done lately
Don’t let a one-night stand come between you and your promise

Let it go, let it go
Stop all this fussin
Stop all of this cussin
Stop being abusive like some of this music
Let it go, let it go
Stop all of this cheatin’
Stop all of this creepin’
Cuz once you start believing
You won’t be defeated

I’m with y’all
Trust me I’m a man I understand
But you gotta love your neighbor as you would have them lovin’ on u
I know you’ve been deceived but God can set you free
I said I hear y’all
Temptations gonna come at every hand
But we gotta always make sure that we have the right one lovin’ on u
So don’t you be deceived by the enemy

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

