The Loudmouth Protestant

November 11, 2007

Love Them Now…

Filed under: entertainment,music — nickisym @ 7:34 pm
Tags: , ,

While surfing around on a discussion board I came upon some disturbing news–it was actually the second time this weekend that my heart dropped thousands of miles in my stomach. Kanye West’s mother, Donda, passed away over the weekend. The cause of death is unknown and it is an oddity to everyone because Donda was seen weeks ago in high spirits and seemingly good health. My heart dropped so many miles because anyone that has spent a little time reading about Kanye or even listening to his music knows that his mother was one of his biggest champions.

I remember what it felt like when I heard “Hey Mama,” the song he dedicated to her off of his second album. My heart welled up with so much joy to hear a man speak so highly of his mother. It felt like such a rarity particularly when most of the music we hear is so misogynistic and barely hints at parental influence let alone mothers. That song let me know how much he loved his mother. How much he appreciated her presence in his life as a driving force. She trusted him when he told her that he needed to follow his hip-hop dreams instead of continue with college. She stood by him when he was going “Through the Wire” following his life-threatening accident. And for the last couple of years she has been pivotal in his development as an artist–even to the point of leaving her post as an English professor at CSU to manage his career. Most recently she wrote a book on what it was like raising him. We saw her on the red carpet with him. We all understoof what that woman meant to him and now, she is gone.

My heart aches as if she were my mother because I know the great joy of having a loving, supportive, strong mother to back me up at every point of my life–one that is like a best friend and a mother. I know what I go through when I imagine losing my mom so I can’t even imagine the rollercoaster of emotions he is on right now, but I am truly hoping and praying that it will all be well with his soul in due time.

It just reminds me that we must, must love them while they are here with us. A preacher once said that we must give them flowers now while they are alive so that we don’t try to make up for it when they are in their grave. The flowers thrown on the closed casket can’t bring as much joy as an unexpected bundle of blossoms for that special woman in your life. Love her now…

1 Comment »

  1. oh, I just heard about this, I’m not even that much of a Kanye West fan, nor do I track his career, but I do know that he has been such a great son to his mother, and his mother was a great mom to him.

    I was really shocked when I read about it, I’m really curious on what caused her sudden death.

    Comment by penn — November 11, 2007 @ 9:20 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

