The Loudmouth Protestant

November 12, 2007

If There Were No You…

Late last night before I went to sleep I turned on my stereo to let it lull me to sleep. Whenever I turn my radio on this late at night I usually go directly to 96.3 for its late night classical program but tonight I decided to turn to the 1190, the AM Gospel station. As soon as the station tuned in I heard the most beautiful song. I didn’t know the artist–though I did hear J.Moss crooning in the background–but I heard this refrain in repetition “If There Were No You.” I rushed to find a piece of paper to write that chorus down and I went to sleep with the song in my mind. As soon as I woke up the next morning, I went to my computer and searched for the song by typing in the chorus. I typed in J.Moss and “If There Were No You,” and it popped up immediately as a song from an artist by the name of Darlene McCoy. I went to iTunes purchased the song and the rest is history.

I played the song about 20 times today, each time going to deeper contemplative thought about what that means to me. The chorus:

If there were no you
There’d be no one by my side
Who would I run and cry to
When I felt I had to
If there were no you
I’d be just like that tale
Of a ship without a sail
Tossed and driven
If there were no you
I wouldn’t be satisfied
Might not even be alive
If there were no you
Don’t know what I’d do, if I had no you

This spoke volumes to me because I actually took a moment to think about where I would be if it wasn’t for the grace of God. I believe that life requires these moments of reflection.

I spend so much time worrying about the things that I don’t have but of all the things I consider myself wanting so badly there is only one thing that I could not live without. I can do nothing apart from God and I am nothing apart from God and so I am so profoundly appreciative of the moments when I can acknowledge that. It keeps things in perspective in a time when I get so caught up in what I want and how I figure that is going to make me happy. But who needs the happiness of things and people when you can have the infinite joy of the divine Father?

1 Comment »

  1. YES!!!! I feel exactly the same way!! I could not have said it any better!!

    Be Blessed!

    Comment by Etrina Atterberry — April 17, 2008 @ 6:24 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

