The Loudmouth Protestant

November 13, 2007

No One

Filed under: christians,God,music — nickisym @ 10:26 pm
Tags: ,

Certain music has an indelible quality to it. Sometimes unbeknownst to the artist, they are creating music that exalts a higher power than them, such is the case with Alicia Keys hit single “No One.”

While most figure she is talking about an earthly love, the lyrics hint at a love so much deeper than earthly love. I sensed this after owning the song for nearly a month but having a contemplative experience with it last Friday.

You see, last Friday I woke up with a pep in my step. It’s not that I don’t usually wake up this way—ok I don’t—but there was something different about the day. I felt like I was in love or like a good friend of mine said, “I felt like I had a boo.” It was that “Got Me Up So High” cloud nine feeling that John Legend sung about on his debut album. It was that feeling of knowing that “Jesus Is My Help” as sung by Hezekiah Walker and the Love Fellowship Choir. It was just an awesome day. So when I hit my desk and turned on my iPod, after listening to a few of my favorite gospel songs, I decided to scroll to the Keys’ song. As I listened to the pulsating beat and her raspy voice, I felt connected to God. I knew that these were lyrics that I could take from the secular and claim it for the sacred. I know that in the deepest contemplative moment of Christianity, we should always be able to find the sacred in the secular and I was finally able to find it in something I enjoy immensely, music. But it didn’t stop there.

Later on that night in Bible study, as my charismatic young adult pastor reached the peak of his study, he recited the lyrics to the song. He said that there is no one like God. He is the Alpha and the Omega. He then went as far as to recite the entire Greek alphabet and say that God is all of that and everything in between. If that wasn’t confirmation for finding sacred in the secular, then I don’t know what is. And maybe there will be a faction of you that will think that’s a stretch, but it’s how I connected with God on a deeper level that day. He can meet us whenever, wherever and through whatever outlets he wants to as long as we are open to his coming. Try it out, I promise He won’t disappoint you.

And for those unfamiliar with Alicia’s latest, here are the lyrics:

No One
By Alicia Keys

I just want you close
Where you can stay forever
You can be sure
That it will only get better

You and me together
Through the days and nights
I don’t worry ‘cuz
Everything’s going to be alright
People keep talking they can say what they like
But all i know is everything’s going to be alright

No one, no one, no one
Can get in the way of what I’m feeling
No one, no one, no one
Can get in the way of what I feel for you, you, you
Can get in the way of what I feel for you

When the rain is pouring down
And my heart is hurting
You will always be around
This I know for certain

You and me together
Through the days and nights
I don’t worry ‘cuz
Everything’s going to be alright
People keep talking they can say what they like
But all I know is everything’s going to be alright

No one, no one, no one
Can get in the way of what I’m feeling
No one, no one, no one
Can get in the way of what I feel for you, you, you
Can get in the way of what I feel

I know some people search the world
To find something like what we have
I know people will try, try to divide something so real
So ’til the end of time I’m telling you there is no one

No one, no one, no one
Can get in the way of what I’m feeling
No one, no one, no one
Can get in the way of what I feel for you, you, you

oh oh oh oh
oh oh oh oh
oh oh oh oh
oh oh oh oh
oh oh oh oh

2 Comments »

  1. Wow! And I thought it was just me. Praise the Lord that other people are out there that feel the same way about this song as I do. I have never felt closer to him. I know she is talking about Him in this song. And even if she is not…it’s a better song if she is. Whenever I listen to it I feel like I am walking on the water with my saviour and nothing…not even the biggest storm can get in the way of him. Amen. Pass the knowledge.

    Comment by Faith — November 14, 2007 @ 9:00 pm | Reply

  2. Isn’t it so wonderful that way that God can redeem the music. I love this song and discovering this about it has made it that much more meaningful to me. Thank for your post and God bless.

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — November 16, 2007 @ 9:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

