The Loudmouth Protestant

November 16, 2007

God’s Word Is First

This morning I spent some time in the book of Job. I love the strength and courage of Job even in the midst of trials and tribulations and I also love God’s rebuttal to all of Job’s ponderings.

I was reading from the Blackaby Study Bible which has historical excerpts and contemplative thoughts on God throughout the Bible. But as I was studying I stopped on this scripture in Job 23:12b: “I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.” It became bold to me within the nanosecond of my reading it. I understood it all too well because I always seem to let the little foxes of life interrupt my relationship with God. It is always the little foxes, isn’t it?

But then I looked up to the next page and it said this:

“God’s word is top priority. If we must forego sleep or food or recreation in order to not neglect God’s word, then that’s what we must do.”

But how many times have we all not forgone food, recreation or sleep to be in God’s word. We are so consumed by the cares of this world. I dare say that even work comes before God’s word for some of us, but I dare to think that work can wait–particularly if it is the job that God gave you–just so you can stay in his word just a little bit longer. For the last year or so I have been sustaining myself on the concept of not leaving my home until I am overflowing with the anointing. I don’t always get there–at least I don’t think I do–but the point is that we are supposed to stay in his word, pray and meditate for long enough that when we leave, we work out of the overflow and not out of the draught. The draught will slow us down, make us tired and incapable of doing God’s work, but the overflow gives us energy to press forward. I notice that on days when I press into God’s word through tiredness and a long “to-do” list, those days are way more productive and bountiful than when I don’t.

So choose this day whom you will serve. Your stomach, need for entertainment, need for sleep and your job can wait if it means you will be that much better.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

