The Loudmouth Protestant

November 18, 2007

Accept Nothing Less…

Filed under: God,love,relationships,Uncategorized,waiting on God — nickisym @ 12:43 am
Tags:

Proverbs 10:22: The blessing of the Lord makes a person rich, and he adds no sorrow with it.

This scripture was illuminated to me in a prayer during a women’s workshop I attended this morning. As soon as the prayer ended I opened my Bible to highlight it only to find out that I had already done that, so instead I put an asterisk by the scripture because I had a revelation on its meaning in my life and the lives of those around me that I’d like to share with you.

Like many women, I struggle with letting go of past hurts and only today did I decide to admit that I am heartbroken. That the dreams that I have and the person that sometimes consumes my thoughts to the point of sickness is indeed someone who at a point in life had my heart. But today I received my breakthrough through this scripture.

According to the scripture, the “blessing” of the Lord makes one rich. It is his “blessing” that makes us rich, meaning that anything he ordains for us makes us abundantly supplied with joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness and self-control. His blessing adds value to our life and takes nothing away. That means that every relationship within God’s will adds richness into your life. But, if you pursue or have a relationship that is not within God’s will for your life, then you can surely expect the second part of the scriptural equation, the sorrow.

When you don’t wait for God’s blessing on your relationships and you decide to go for self instead of wait for the spirit, rest assured your relationship will crash and burn. If you notice that you spend more time being frustrated, upset, confused and compromising your integrity for the sake of keeping a relationship you should take a step back and figure out when last you heard from God. Realize he doesn’t put us in precarious situations so that we can figure our way out–his word says that he provides a way out of temptation. He doesn’t give us a man that is less than what we would have expected. He fulfills the desires of our heart but he does it in such a way that it is always exceedingly, abundantly over anything we could ask, think or imagine. If you are waiting on God to send a helpmate to you, realize that God will not send you a man that has baggage. A man that can’t commit to you. A man that can’t be honest with you. A man that doesn’t believe in God–or one that does but is duplicitous in his behavior. The list goes on and on. But I say all of that to say that you should not confuse God’s blessing with your mess. Recognize the importance of waiting on God’s blessing in your life and not just in your relationships but in every part of your life.

It’s time for us to acknowledge the way God works in our lives and realize that if we are following Him we never have to accept less.

6 Comments »

  1. It all makes sense that God would not bless us with a struggle. Being with someone should not be ‘hard’. However, every relationship will have its ups and downs. So the question becomes, at what point do you delineate between frustration God never intended, and the regular strife of a relationship. I think so many of us are so eager to think that something is meant to be that we refuse to see the signs that God puts in front of us that it is not. I believe that God speaks to us in many forms, including through other people. So if everyone is saying it’s not right, why not take it to heart?

    Comment by Kristen Copeland — November 19, 2007 @ 3:13 pm | Reply

  2. I also believe that you don’t meet people by chance. GOD speaks to us in many different ways. I’ve experienced the people closest to me are here for a reason. As Kristen said, there are many ups and downs in relationships. But, at the sight of trouble, do you leave? I believe GOD gives us the ability to rationalize our thoughts through him. I pray daily for GOD to give me and my significant other the strength to grow closer to him. Also, to live our lives as he sees fit. I also remember that GOD, not this man, is first in my life. The Divine has never let me down. I can testify that prayer does change things. So, for a relationship, always ask GOD for strength and patience and his will to be done; you can never go wrong.

    Comment by Donnika Carmichael — November 19, 2007 @ 5:47 pm | Reply

  3. Thanks for your responses ladies.

    Yes it is true that every relationship has its ups and downs but those downs should never outweigh the ups. As I said in my post, if you spend more of your time being worried, frustrated, confused, irritable, etc then you do in a peaceful union, you should be concerned. The point is, when you are in a relationship you should be at peace and in peace. If God ordained your relationship you should not even be worried about whether it is meant to be because you will know that He has it all under control.

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — November 19, 2007 @ 11:12 pm | Reply

  4. I generally agree. I wonder how you define baggage though, everyone has issues and it is through our relationship with God and God centered relationships that we are able to work them out. All relationships do have ups and downs. It would a mistake to think that a relationship is going to be perfect. I think that this is part of the reason that there are so many divorces– folks do not realize how much effort it takes to create a successful and healthy relationship/marriage. Like everything in life, relationships go through seasons and there could be a season that happens to be particularly frustrating but its His grace and mercy that gives us the strength to stay in the relationship(marriage). We have a generation of people who are used to walking away when things dont go their way. We no longer understand the concept of what it means to be in a covenant relationship…I could go on and on about this one. One another note, sometimes your worry and frustration is driven by the other person in the relationship but sometimes your worry, frustration and confusion is driven by your own insecurity and God can send the person he has for you but if you are not a secure person and secure in who God created you to be, you can drive that person away. On another note again, we could save ourself some heartache and fustration if we would heed God’s instruction to be equally yoked.

    Comment by Harlem Esquire — November 22, 2007 @ 7:13 am | Reply

  5. Harlem Esquire, your last point was exactly what I was getting at. The fact that if God didn’t ordain the relationships in the first place the suffering will come along with it. I am well aware of the fact the relationships have their ups and downs so I don’t even expect to be in a perfect one but I do intend to wait for God’s blessing upon my relationship which means I will not be establishing relationships based on my own fleshly desires.

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — November 22, 2007 @ 11:04 am | Reply

  6. I found your blog through a search.. as I am having a hard time just stepping back and letting the natural course of getting to know a guy happen. I found one I like, but I find myself so anxious if I don’t hear from him for a couple of days…. when in my logical mind I know that we barely know each other and it’s not the end of the world. My heart is so heavy with my singleness lately and it was refreshing to know someone out there is feeling a little like me. Thanks again for your words of wisdom.

    Comment by Tonja — February 18, 2008 @ 6:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

