The Loudmouth Protestant

January 28, 2008

Take the Limits Off

Filed under: life,love,randomness,relationships — nickisym @ 9:57 pm
Tags: ,

I have pretty high expectations for 2008 and one of those expectations is that I will get a date before the year is out.  So in my attempt to actually book a date this year I have decided that it is time for me to take the limits off. For as long as I can remember I walked around with a scroll of requirements for my ideal mate. As I described it to a friend last night it went a little something like “But he’s got to be tall, but he’s got to be smart, but he’s got to be cute/gorgeous/breath-taking/a beautiful mess, but he’s got to be clever, but he has to wear this, but he has to read this, but he has to say this, but he has to be this, etc.The list goes on and on and if the person didn’t meet even one of those requirements he was out the door.As I got older those requirements were even more fine-tuned and got as complex as dealing with the complexion of his skin and his ethnicity. It was crazy because essentially I was making my dating pool quite shallow–problematic for a girl that would like a dating life that more resembles “Sex and the City” without the sex. But that was then and this is now. This is not to say that I don’t have any standards, but I can say that I have loosened the belt a bit. I guess I am a bit of an EOE–oooh I still shudder when I say it.Nevertheless I am going out on a limb this year and my first limb-y activity is to try Crazy Blind Date yet again. For the first time in months I logged onto my account and scheduled a date for tomorrow night. This time I might even have a chance at a crazy blind date because I actually took off every restriction save for the requirement that he must be a Christian and he must have a college degree. So for craps and giggles we will see what happens and I will be sure to let you know the results of taking the limits off in this crazy dating world. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

