The Loudmouth Protestant

February 8, 2008

Time Is On Our Side…

Filed under: christians,God,life,worship — nickisym @ 1:40 am
Tags:

 In the past few days I have reversed my thinking about time because I am in the midst of an extremely busy period. Work is demanding, ministry is action-packed, my personal life is half-functional and my interior life in God falls in somewhere in the mix. I find that when I am done working, done serving in church, and done trying to piece together a semblance of a social life, the energy I have left for God is just about gone. Everything comes to a head and then at the end of the night when it is time for me to drown out the noise, I am too tired to focus on my scripture and sometimes even too tired to pray. But I came to the realization that I was looking at it all wrong.

  I have discovered that it doesn’t matter what time I get in from work or ministry or socializing, my priority should always be to put God first before myself. That means that if I hit the door at 11:30 on a week night, I am still very much obligated to engage in quiet time with God and thank him for bringing me through yet another day. That also means that if I get home late and I really am too tired to commune with God that I say my prayer and ask God for true rest that evening so that I may get up the next morning and fellowship with Him.

 I realize that when I put no value on time, I am able to more fully enjoy my time in God. This might not be a deep concept, but I am just discovering it. You can’t freak out about a meeting running too long, or having to work late if you think about the end result. Working late means you will take advantage of waking hours to increase productivity. Having to stay late for a ministry commitment means that the sacrifice you are offering to the Lord is all the more greater because you consider it not robbery to stay with Him and he is a rewarder of that. And staying up until the wee hours to commune with God or getting up in the wee hours to meet with Him when you haven’t had much sleep is a sacrifice that God honors.

His word said that he is a rewarder of those who diligently seek him and that diligence includes paying no attention to this thing called time. Try putting yourself in a “time doesn’t matter” mindset tomorrow. See how you work better when you aren’t watching the clock. See how the quality of time you spend with your family improves when you are not adhering to any set timeline. See how your relationship with God improves when you say “Father, nothing matters in this moment except for you.”

After all, I believe God is the keeper of time and if you are using your time according to His will, He will be faithful enough to slow it down for you to complete His work and your own. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

