The Loudmouth Protestant

February 11, 2008

What After This?

Filed under: God,life — nickisym @ 10:43 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Ever since 2008 started I have been doing a lot of thinking. I am wondering what comes next in my life. At 27 I think I have about three years to lockdown a real life plan and find that one true passion. One thing has been a recurring theme for the last few weeks and that is, “Go back to school.”

  When most people think about going back to school they get nervous and sweaty but when I think about it I get excited and I get butterflies in my stomach. For some reason I feel as though all that I have gone through in the past 2-3 years has all been leading up to this moment. From leaving my comfortable job at the fashion magazine and landing in the strangest dotcom–well it isn’t that strange. My appetite for information and comprehension has increased exponentially over the last few years and my ability to grasp extremely difficult concepts and read academically dense books is incredible.

Another confirmation came out of an argument I had with my father about my going to grad school. He claimed that the only way I would ever be succesful was if I went to grad school. I vehemently disagreed with him and told him that if I never go I would be just fine. I fought him tooth and nail on it until I just had to hang up the phone and let it breathe for a second. About a week later I called him back and he apologized to me for trying to impose his beliefs on me. He said he just wants the best for me and that is the only way that he thought it could happen. I accepted his apology and I took it all into consideration.

Fast forward to today. I was listening to a sermon by Rev. A.R. Bernard entitled “Maximizing Your Value.” He was speaking about how each of us can maximize our value and the fact that we don’t get paid in life for our time but our value. In the midst of his sermon he spoke about increasing your value by going back to school, attending seminars, reading books, and listening to tapes.So armed with all this revelation and confirmation I have a task in front of me. The task is to stay in prayer and to start doing what I need to do to prepare for this next season of life. I am totally ready for God to use me as he’d like and so if that means going to back to school I am ready to step to another place and do it. So do keep me in prayer in this season as I don’t want to make any moves outside of God.

2 Comments »

  1. I tell anyone who will listen that I’ve never met anyone who has regretted going (back) to school.

    Comment by Jay — February 13, 2008 @ 2:01 am | Reply

  2. TOTALLY agree with the comment above. It’s weird that when our parents say something we totally refute what they are saying and then a stranger comes along (and God forbid its a preacher) and says the same thing, we we are more open to it. That happens to me all the time (it even happened today) and I totally hate that it takes someone else (often a stranger) to validate what my parents are saying before I will listen with an open heart. You should consider sharing this confirmation with your dad and perhaps even apologizing to him as well.

    Comment by Cypress Esquire — February 13, 2008 @ 11:37 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

