The Loudmouth Protestant

February 13, 2008

Considering God on Valentine’s Day

Filed under: God,love,relationships,singleness — nickisym @ 10:53 pm
Tags:

With Valentine’s Day less than a few hours away there is no doubt a faction of coupled people running around trying to round out their V-Day offering and yet another faction of single folks ruminating on their singleness–and regretting it. For the first time in years I am finally at peace with this day.

In years past I would regret the coming of February 14th. It was an ominous day that meant I had yet another opportunity to either spend it by myself or with my other single friends. I would dress in all black and just spend the day being jaded about love. But by the grace of God, this year is different.

It’s different because I found the love of my life or I should say he found me and let me know that there is no greater love than the one he has for me and the one I can surely attempt to have for him in this lifetime. Knowing this I face tomorrow much differently than I ever have.

<br. I am okay with the fact that I don’t have someone to spend the day with because I know that throughout the entire day and every day thereafter I have someone with me at all times. He never leaves me nor forsakes me. His love for me is unconditional. He is the lover of my soul. I don’t mind that I won’t receive any flowers, cards or candy because God has given me the greatest gift I could ever receive. And what I thought would matter so much–another person telling me they love me–doesn’t seem to matter at all compared to my knowing that God loves me more than any man could.

I can say this all whole-heartedly now and admit that my change of mind has nothing to do with me and everything to do with God. He doesn’t have to do another thing for me. He could never send my husband and that would be just fine.

Tomorrow is about my loving God to the fullest and letting it be the start of a great love story. Tomorrow is also about me loving the me God created me to be. It’s about you loving yourself the way God created you. You don’t have to wait for anyone else to appreciate you, buy you something, tell you something, or do something for you. Take tomorrow to appreciate, buy, tell and do something for yourself. Treat yourself like the queen–or the king–that you are. Most importantly, treat God like the King he is in your life. Wake up with a new song in your heart for him tomorrow and tell him why he is your everything.

1 Comment »

  1. Amen!

    Comment by Jay — February 15, 2008 @ 12:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

