The Loudmouth Protestant

February 13, 2008

Strength, Courage, and Wisdom

Filed under: God,life — nickisym @ 1:04 am
Tags: , , ,

As many of you know, music is a big part of my life. I take in music much like someone would take in a good book. I listen to it for understanding and to gain knowledge–because in truly good music there is some to be found. I also listen to it to mark seasons in my life.

There is one song in particular that touches me every time I listen to it. I listen to it when I need to be encouraged. It’s a song that I turn to whenever I feel I am in the midst of making an important life decision and I need a little practical guidance. Surprisingly it isn’t a gospel song but it could be counted as gospel for the common man. What’s even more amazing about this song is that all the things the artist sings about needing are the things that God can give to us if we just ask.

The song I speak of is India.Arie’s “Strength, Courage, and Wisdom” off her album Acoustic Soul. So as not to belabor your discovery of the jewels of wisdom offered in the song I have taken the liberty of posting the lyrics below. Enjoy and be enlightened:

“Strength, Courage and Wisdom”By India.ArieInside my head there lives a dream that I want to see in the sun
Behind my eyes there lives a me that I’ve been hiding for much too long
‘Cause I’ve been, too afraid to let it show
‘Cause I’m scared of the judgment that may follow
Always putting off my living for tomorrow
It’s time to step out on faith, I’ve gotta show my faith
It’s been illusive for so long, but freedom is mine today
I’ve gotta step out on faith, It’s time to show my faith
Procrastination had me down but look what I have found, I found

[Chorus]Strength, courage, and wisdom
And it’s been inside of me all along,
Strength, courage, and wisdom

Inside of meBehind my pride there lives a me, that knows humility
Inside my voice there is a soul, and in my soul there is a voice
But I’ve been, too afraid to make a choice
‘Cause I’m scared of the things that I might be missing
Running too fast to stop and listen

It’s time to step out on faith, I’ve gotta show my faith
It’s been illusive for so long but freedom is mine today
I’ve gotta step out on faith it’s time to show my faith
Procrastination had me down but look what I have found, I found
[Chorus]

Strength, courage, and wisdom
And it’s been inside of me all along,
Strength, courage, and wisdomInside of me

[Bridge]I close my eyes and I think of all the things that I want to see
‘Cause I know, now that I’ve opened up my heart I know that
Anything I want can be, so let it be, so let it be:.

[Chorus]Strength, courage, and wisdom
It’s been inside of me all along,
Strength, courage, wisdomIt’s been inside of me all along, everyday I’m praying for…

This song reminds me that we need not wait for perfect circumstances to pursue our dreams but we need only ask God for his guidance and for his impartation of strength, courage, and wisdom in our lives.

2 Comments »

  1. Isn’t that an awesome song? I love India.Arie so much because many (if not most) of her song are so full of truth. My personal anthem from her third album…I choose. Possibly more of the true Gospel than I’ve heard on many gospel songs….

    Comment by shannsays — February 20, 2008 @ 8:08 pm | Reply

  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Comment by sandrar — September 10, 2009 @ 10:11 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

