The Loudmouth Protestant

February 18, 2008

The Burning of BET

Be wary of false preachers who smile a lot, dripping with practiced sincerity. Chances are they are out to rip you off in some way or other. Don’t be impressed with charisma; look for character. Who preachers are is the main thing, not what they say. A genuine leader will never exploit your emotions or your pocketbook. These diseased trees with their bad apples are going to be chopped down and burned. Matthew 7:15-20 The Message Bible

Although I am on a fast from television this Lenten season I chose to observe this Sunday as the mini-Easter which celebrates Jesus’ victory over sin and death. (Many in Western Christianity do not count the six Sundays during Lent in the 40 day period because they claim it as a day of celebration instead.) So I took this as my day to watch a little bit of television. The television ended up watching me more than I watched it until I came back in from hanging out with friends at about 12:30. Though it is legally Monday and my fast-break is over, I decided to turn on my television anyways because I felt justified as it was holiday and at my disobedience, I was appalled.

My television was on BET and if you know anything about how their programming runs on a Sunday, after a certain hour it all turns into “Christian” informercials. The hucksters come out and sell their pray cloths, disingenuous books, beg for seed offerings, give out false testimonies and grin like cheshire cats. I had the misfortune of watching a man who was giving away a prayer cloth for free–if you sowed a $25 seed. During his ridiculous prayer cloth speech he held up the green prayer cloth, told the viewers to lift their hands toward it and even told them to touch it–yes the viewers in their homes–and he proceeded to pray. In the midst of his prayer he said that he saw a woman with a cane that desperately wants to be healed. I was disgusted beyond words because I knew this man was making money off the backs of innocent people that don’t know God’s word firmly enough for themselves to not fall for such a ploy.

Throughout the night, each new informercial gets worse. The amount of money that each faux-preacher requests for seeding increases. Their huckerster-ism worsens as the night drags along and I am sure thousands of people are getting cheated out of their money.

I’ve been well aware of these people for years, I’ve heard others preach about their disdain for these televangelists and now I am finally trying to figure out how to get rid of them and then I thought, “Let’s attack the root of the problem.”

,br>The root of the problem are the executives at BET that don’t pay close enough attention to their late night programming. Now someone please correct me if I am wrong, but all of those faux-men of God have to go through BET or Viacom’s advertising department to even get placement for their advertisements, correct? If that is the case, why is a fine-tooth comb not used to analyze what is going on air to ensure it is not deceiving the people. I understand that the execs probably don’t believe that enough people are up for it to matter but it does matter. My bet is that a large number of BET viewers profess to be Christian. They watch “Celebration of Gospel,” “Sunday’s Best” and “Exalted.” They tune into the “Bobby Jones Gospel Hour” and other Sunday programming and on some level they trust BET to air quality programming but maybe they shouldn’t because the same network that is ensuring that they get to watch sermons from mega-church pulpits, hear today’s best gospel, learn about their favorite preachers and gives them a Christian alternative to “American Idol” is deceiving the people.

I believe it it time for the preachers that have their services broadcasted on BET to strike until those infomercials are removed. It’s time for Bobby Jones to speak up. It’s time for BET executives to stop chasing the almighty dollar and look at chasing almighty God and maybe it is time for the good and faithful Christians that watch BET to stop watching until those advertisements are pulled.

2 Comments »

  1. huckers? hilarious. the last two senteneces your piece should be in a sermon. i can totally see you ending one with that?

    Comment by Cypress Esquire — February 20, 2008 @ 2:26 am | Reply

  2. Spot on, totally agree

    Comment by Luke Buckwell — April 14, 2008 @ 2:29 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

