The Loudmouth Protestant

February 18, 2008

Yes, You Can

I noticed that some of you have been searching and landed on my blog while trying to figure out if you can relax your hair while you are on Accutane. Well, as a black woman that needs a relaxer about every 6-8 weeks and one who has been on Accutane for the last three months I am here to tell you that it is indeed possible for you to relax your hair while on Accutane.

Before I started the medication I made sure to ask my doctor if it was permissible and and she let me know that she has had plenty of patients that get relaxers and other chemical processes done to their hair while on Accutane and they have experienced no adverse side effects. Of course the first time I had to get a relaxer while on the drug I was kind of scared that I’d be the one patient whose hair would fall out but fortunately that wasn’t the case. So all went successful with getting the relaxer but I have noticed that when it is time for me to get a touch-up and my hair is particularly difficult to comb through I am more prone to extreme hair-shedding.

Now I am not sure if this is a general issue for most black women on the drug–who get relaxers–but I think it is something you should watch for. Also, it is extremely important that you keep your scalp adequately moisturized. I have found that the hot oil treatments my stylist has been giving me is working wonders. That and the fact that I drink plenty of water and I take Biotin everyday. So with all those precautionary measures you should be alright. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

