The Loudmouth Protestant

April 7, 2008

Things That Make You Go Hmm…

Filed under: God,religion,spirituality — nickisym @ 10:54 pm
Tags: ,

A few months ago I purchased Eckhart Tolle’s “A New Earth.” I’ll admit that that I was caught up in the fray of Oprah’s Book Club selection although I have never read an Oprah Book Club book nor have I ever watched an entire episode of Oprah. My feelings toward Oprah are that of indifference. I couldn’t care less about the books she is pedaling, the celebrities on her show, the women she honors, the apartments that she buys for her not lesbian lover–as you can see though I don’t care I clearly still know a bit about her.

So for the first time I decided to see what all this book club nonsense was all about especially because “A New Earth” is the first obviously spiritual book that Oprah welcomed to her book club. I needed to see what Oprah considered spiritual and what she was going to endorse before the world. I needed to know what was so special about “A New Earth” that wasn’t special about “Purpose Driven Life” or “Your Best Life Now” or any other top-selling Christian book. Why “A New Earth?”

I started reading and I saw that it was very New Age-y, very squishy, very for people who need to be on the fence about their faith or for the open-minded Christian–or any other faith. Tolle is a great writer and though “A New Earth” is conceptually brilliant, there are some serious gaps that the Christian must take into consideration. Sad thing is, in my reading I didn’t take the gaps into consideration. I gave them a pass. When Tolle said that the title of the book was drawn from the OT and the NT of the Bible. Tolle says,

“The inspiration for the title of this book came from a Bible prophecy that seems more applicable now than at any other time in human history. It occurs in both the Old and the New Testament and speaks of the collapse of the existing world order and the arising of “a new heaven and a new earth.” We need to understand here that heaven is not a location but refers to the inner realm of consciousness…’A new heaven’ is the emergence of a transformed state of human consciousness, and ‘a new earth’ is its reflection in the physical realm.”

This was one of the moments when the book gave me pause and it would be the first of many moments though I would shrug it off. But how could I shrug off someone massaging the word of God to make it palatable for the masses and for the sake of a dollar?

I never got to through the book. In fact I stopped reading on Holy Week because I sensed God moving me in another direction and another book that was better suited to where he needed me. A book where I could be fed with good seed that is clear and inspired by Him and Him alone. But just when I thought I was done with “A New Earth” I received the video below. It’s arrival in my inbox was pretty timely as I received a word in Bible Study this evening that as Christians we aren’t called to be peace keepers–i.e. hold things in and not speak the truth–but we are called to shake things up and do the right thing of speaking truth even when it isn’t popular. This video is speaking truth that I believe all Christians need to hear and consider.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

