The Loudmouth Protestant

April 9, 2008

I’m A Big Kid Now

Filed under: life,randomness — nickisym @ 9:56 am
Tags:

The time has finally come for me to serve jury duty. I groan at the thought and I groan as I sit in this room full of disgruntled people. I don’t believe there is even one person in this room that wants to be here. It shows on their faces, the room reeks of it, and yet we still have to be here. To make matters worse, the servants of the house have the worst disposition that makes it unpleasant to sit through. 

Ever since I got the notice to serve I have been plotting about how I could get out of it. I’ve asked friends, read stories, and tried to come up with my own plan, none of which I think I will actually follow through with because I am something of a scaredy cat–a friend calls me “Shook Ones.”

So I sit. I wait. I listen and I commisserate with you. Please pray my strength today and the days that follow. I am believing God that I won’t have to serve. So here goes.

1 Comment »

  1. I am so glad that you didnt get out of it. I get so irritated –especially when people of color try to get out of serving. This is one of the reasons why out jury pool is not diverse. If we want sentences that are void of overt racism we must do our part in serving when called. There was a time when black people couldnt even serve on juries so we should not take this for granted. Sorry, I get passionate about this….

    Comment by Cypress Esquire — May 11, 2008 @ 9:39 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

