The Loudmouth Protestant

April 23, 2008

Accutane Account: Going on Month Six

Filed under: beauty,life — nickisym @ 12:34 am
Tags: ,

And the beat goes on with my ‘Tane trial. 

Last month, I switched doctors because my usual doctor was out of the office on vacation. This stand-in doctor took time to ask me how I was feeling about the treatment to which I told her that I think the trial is bunk and I am not seeing the stellar results I thought I would. With tears welling up in my eyes I explained that while I understand this is a process, at four months I couldn’t understand why my skin wasn’t clearer.

She understood completely what I was going through–of course she would she is a doctor that gets paid for recommending these crazy drugs to patients. But instead of just increasing my dosage she decided to add another medication to the pile. She suggested that I get on a birth control pill so that the BCPs and the Accutane can work synergistically. The ‘Tane will work where the BCPs aren’t and vice versa. This seemed like a good enough solution as I told her that my breakouts were the worst when my cycle came around. She also suggested that I get a hormone test because of the possibility that I could have cyst on my ovaries or something of the sort that could be causing side effects in other parts of my body. 

So now I am finishing out my first month taking the ‘Tane and the BCPs and I am definitely seeing better results. My skin is definitely clearing up and the left side of my face is completely clear, but for some reason my right side is still a bit on the congested side–possibly because I sleep on that side. It’s not too bad…About 4 pimples on my right cheek and one above my right brow and one on my forehead, so I guess that is pretty good, right? Sure, if only the perfectionist side of me could be satisfied with subpar results. 

Another thing that has been helping me through the process is a wonderful exfoliator from Boscia that I purchased a few weeks ago. Partnered with a Boscia Toner and my usual Clean & Clear cleanser, my skin is a lot less red and lot more beautiful brown girl kissed by the sun. So things are moving along at a steady pace. I have about 1.5 months before my first summer wedding so I am praying that all will be well by then. I am still very much keeping the faith so stay tuned…

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve heard about some awful side effects with accutane. But glad to hear it has helped plus the birth control pills. Everyone is different. I prefer using all natural herbs and it rid me of my cystic acne(which I had into my late 20’s)Just providing hope & passing on another alternative to those who are open…
    http://www.skintreatmentwebsite.com

    Comment by Ashley — October 22, 2008 @ 2:56 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

