The Loudmouth Protestant

May 8, 2008

Stuff Black Women Hate: Stylist Who Stalk

Filed under: beauty,life,randomness — nickisym @ 10:39 am
Tags:

For the past couple of months I have been dealing with a hairstylist that specializes not only in great hair but great harassment. It begun as a nice relationship where I would come in to get my hair done every two weeks, but somehow she took my coming in with such regularity as a sign that I would always come in every two weeks. Recently she has moved on to assuming I am coming in every two weeks even when I don’t call to make an appointment. I realized she was getting much too comfortable with me when I received a text one Saturday morning that said:

“I thought you were coming in this morning. I am here until 5:30, let me know when you are coming in. Please let me know what’s up.”

I was shocked and quite annoyed that she assumed I was coming in even when I didn’t make an appointment. It took me a while to bounce back from this message until I thought about it and realized that she depends on clients like me to maintain her livelihood. Without my $75 she might not be able to make rent on her chair and if she doesn’t make rent on her chair, she can’t make rent on her home. But then I thought “I depend on me for my livelihood and there are times when I’d rather not pay $75 every two weeks to get my hair done because I have other expenses.” After all this internal dialogue, I told her that I wouldn’t be making an appointment for a few weeks because I was busy with other commitments–and this was a true statement. I left it on a “Don’t call us, we’ll call you” tone. I thought she would get the point…

Days later–even though I told her I would be going out of town–she texted me again to find out when I am coming in. At this point I was incredibly frustrated because it appeared that she was not understanding the importance of letting me have the upper hand in the relationship. This is a business relationship and I can choose to not see her whenever I want. We have no written agreement that says I will see her every two weeks. I felt like I was going through follicular harassment. And so, in my response, I repeated again that I am going out of town and will not see her for another week.

The story goes on from here and even includes her harassing another friend of mine whom I referred to her. So, needless to say she is skating on thin ice. She has texted me twice this week and I finally told her I will not be seeing her and I will contact her to schedule an appointment. I am deeply disturbed by her tactics to get clients into the salon without considering what is appropriate contact. Because of this she may be on the verge of losing a client. And the really sad thing is, she is a great stylist. But no amount of knowing your way around an ionic flat iron and expensive styling products can make up for lack of tact.

2 Comments »

  1. “I felt like I was going through follicular harassment” – LOL priceless!

    Comment by Jessy — May 22, 2008 @ 8:49 pm | Reply

  2. okay… so i officially LOVE your blog!!! you had me at “follicular harrassment!” *BOOKMARK* 🙂

    Comment by andrealoper — August 12, 2008 @ 12:32 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

