The Loudmouth Protestant

June 2, 2008

Megabus is Not Ready

Filed under: randomness — nickisym @ 2:06 pm
Tags:

Last week, as I was riding the train to work, I looked up and my gaze was met by an illustrated chubby bus porter who is the mascot for Megabus.com, the latest in the cheap fleet bus movement. I visited the site and found that I could get to Montreal for less than $100 round trip and instantly I was sold–though I don’t have time to go to Montreal. But another weekend trip opportunity presented itself when a friend invited me to DC for an alumni BBQ. Free food, good company and a cheap weekend getaway, I was sold.

So this morning I decided to go about making my travel plans but I was stopped at the sight of this:

You see, this morning CNN had a segment about Megabus.com on their website hailing the cheap fares and I guess it took nothing but a word–or at least the mention of a $1 trip to DC from NY–that sent millions of people on the Northeast corridor flocking to the site to buy tickets. And because of this the site has been down for about four hours. While I am overjoyed that everyone will get to lock in cheap rates, I am a bit disappointed that there isn’t enough room for us all in any given hour. It’s strange that a site that intend to make money from millions of people this summer would invest in a better system that can handle thousands of users at once.

Sounds like MegaBus needs a MegaServer.

That’s all.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

