The Loudmouth Protestant

August 5, 2008

Songs that Take Me ‘There’

I am sitting at work right now doing the usual, working and worshiping. How does one worship at work, you ask? Well for me, I listen to praise and worship music throughout the day to inspire me to great things and more often than not my heart soars and God ministers to me. I wanted to share with you some of the songs that have brought me encouragement, inspiration and resolve throughout my workday in hopes that you’ll be able to pinpoint your own.

“Surely” by Israel and New Breed– This is the first Israel & New Breed song I ever fell in love with. It’s short and sweet and it helps me to remember that the presence of the Lord is all around us and as the song says, “Surely, you won’t forsake the ones who seek your face.” Surely He won’t forsake the ones who seek His face.

“Here I Am to Worship” by Tim Hughes– A must have in any Christian music collection, Hughes’ worship classic is sung across the world in a variety of churches but it is a song that translates the same for everyone, particularly when it gets to the end, “I’ll never know, how much it cost, to see my sin, upon that cross.” Those words sting and rip through my innermost being every time I hear them and every time I sing them. I don’t want to stand. I don’t even want to exist in considering those words, knowing I’ve lived a life unworthy of His love. But yet and still, he keeps me and gives me something to remember Him by.

“Precious Jesus” sung by Melonie Daniels– I remember the first time I heard this song. It brought tears to my eyes and gave me such fervor for the Lord because it reminded me of the person I have been changed into and the fact that this new woman has been “Persuaded, Lord to Love You.” I would be remiss if I didn’t say that Melonie Daniel’s has a voice that is blessed by the best with such an incredible anointing that it is difficult for me not to listen to this song and stop everything I am doing to meditate on his greatness. I know I’ve been changed.

“I Love the Lord” sung by Whitney Houston– Sure we all know Houston to be a troubled woman, but do you know her to be one who is haunted by God for his purposes? That’s what this song reminds me of. The opening verse of the song is, “I love the Lord, he heard my cry, and pitied every groan.” I don’t know what it must have been like for Houston the moment she sung those words, but I like to imagine she heard this song and remembered that she can always “Hasten to his throne.” We always have a friend to run to. I love this song for reminding me that God’s heart is never too far from mine. His ears are always tuned to the sound of my voice and He is always waiting at His throne for me to run to him.

Latter Rain” by Men of Standard featuring Kirk Franklin– I’m no stranger to drought particularly as it pertains to spirituality. I have seasons where I am high on the mountaintop and seasons when I am low in the valley, so according to those season my music has to change a bit to meet my needs.

“Latter Rain” has been a “go to” track lately as I navigate through my valley as of late. M.O.S sings about our bodies growing weak and our proclivity toward failure in the things of God. But they provide hope in the way of rain. There is an Israel & New Breed songs that encourages listeners to ask for the rain. “Rain” which symbolizes God’s refreshing waters. Jesus offered the woman at the well water that will make her never thirst again, so in times of thirst we need only ask God for the rain upon our lives. Ask for the fresh waters to fall on you and purify you with the anointing of God. I love “Latter Rain” because the song, in and of itself, is a waterfall of blessings.

“Well Done” by Tye Tribbett and Greater Anointing– Far too many times in my life, I get really caught up with worldly business. I am constantly thinking about success and how I will obtain it. What degree will I pursue, what classes will I take, what contacts will I make, what story will I write, who will I impress today or does anyone like me. And then I listen to this song.

Tribbett exorts us to only be concerned with one thing and that is ensuring that God can say “Enter into, my joy, servant, well done.” When I heard it, I thought to myself “What a concept that the only thing I need to be concerned with is my Father being pleased with my work toward his kingdom on earth.” Every time I hear this song, it makes me think about whether what I am doing at any given moment is serving God’s kingdom or my own agenda. I do so desperately want to hear the words “Well done my good and faithful servant.”

1 Comment »

  1. […] music — loudmouthprotestant @ 9:35 pm Tags: tye tribbett & G.A I mentioned the song “Well Done” in an earlier post and I wanted everyone to be able to experience it for themselves. I can’t stop listening to […]

    Pingback by Well Done « The Loudmouth Protestant — August 11, 2008 @ 9:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

