The Loudmouth Protestant

August 7, 2008

Preacher’s Wife Behaving Badly

Filed under: randomness — nickisym @ 1:32 pm
Tags: ,

Joel Osteen’s pristine record is about to receive a speck and he can thank his beloved wife Victoria for that.

Apparently, on a Continental Airlines flight, Victoria pushed a flight attendant against the bathroom door and elbowed her in the left breast after finding a stain on her first-class seat. When I read this, I thought to myself “Puh-lease, you couldn’t come up with something a little more believable.” Now I am not saying that Mrs. Mullet is beyond reproach, but I find it highly unlikely that she got that buck on a plane full of people who could later confirm her actions. I doubt she is that stupid. But assaults aside, this is what bothered me the most:

“According to court documents, Brown says that she suffers from anxiety and hemorrhoids because of the incident involving Victoria Osteen and said her faith was affected.”

I gasp at the thought of one woman allowing another to affect her faith. What kind of faith does Brown have in the first place if her faith is affected by a mere mortal? It’s my understanding that we aren’t to put our trust in human beings who are faulty by nature. Was Brown’s admiration for the Osteens so fierce that it eclipsed her devotion to God? I really don’t know what the case is, but I fear that this isn’t really about the truth and it’s more about another serpent trying to get her change.

And please be clear, I’m no Osteen freak, I just believe in trying to give people the benefit of the doubt. I think it is totally possible that Victoria could have roughed the flight attendant up a little–we all have our days when someone or something pushes us to the edge and we fall for temptation–but the current proceedings seem to focus on persecution more than prosecution.

In the end, God will be the judge.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

