The Loudmouth Protestant

August 28, 2008

Guarding Your Heart

Filed under: God,love,relationships — nickisym @ 1:58 pm
Tags: ,

A friend and I were having a discussion about why I believe it’s so important to guard my heart. It is her belief that relationships involve taking a risk, but my belief is that my heart is much too delicate a thing to throw onto the gauntlet every time someone comes around. My theory has worked for quite a while although the process of heart guarding is very difficult when you want people to get to know the best parts of you.

Nevertheless, I keep the gates around my corollary locked despite what I really want because I know my heart is terribly delicate. In contemplating this notion of guarding the heart, I thought about the fact that there is a scripture that says “the heart is deceitful above all things.” I’ve been having a hard time grappling with that, but at the same time, I am so fully aware of the fact that the heart is deceitful. I believe our hearts break before any other part of our beings after the demise of a relationship. Your heart can be broken for years and though your mind has moved on, the heart is connected to the spirit and there will always be something there to remind you.

I can remember the times when things didn’t turn out well with some prospective relationships and though my mind was on the “Forget Him” program, my heart was slouched down in my stomach with a box of Kleenex. I swear it has a mind of its own, when I’d rather it follow my inclination to dispose of sappy feelings from the onslaught.

So what’s a girl to do with matters of the heart? I am reminded of Proverbs 4:23, “Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.” When I think of this scripture, I think of the fact that our hearts were not meant to run free like the wind. Nor were we meant to box it up and give it away. They have to be protected and ensconced until the appointed time when God gives us the greenlight to open it up. But, you say, “Why do I have to wait to give someone my heart?”

You have to wait because not every single person you encounter will be able to be a good steward over your heart. It doesn’t mean that they are a bad person, but it does mean that there are people who God has appointed on this earth to honor and protect your heart. Likewise there are people, who have no idea what it means to honor and protect someone’s heart.

Our hearts hide the issues of our life, which are extremely important to protect. I think about the issues of my own life and the way with which I share those issues with close friends and family. Before sharing, I always have to stop and think about what this person will do once they find out a little bit more about what makes me tick–be it good or bad. Will they guard that knowledge with their heart, keeping my issues to themselves and to their conversation with God? Or will they use it to judge and criticize me further on down the line. It’s a massive undertaking to decide you trust someone–besides your creator–with your innermost secrets.

Just a tip: This is a moment of transparency, but whenever I have a crush–and anyone who knows me knows that these are always fleeting because of what I’m about to share–I immediately take that emotional energy to God and ask Him what he would have me to do with it. I’ve seen Him use my interest in another to do extraordinary work and I’ve seen Him smack the taste out of my mouth. Either way, it’s always been the best use of my mindshare and emotional energy to ask Him what His will is, and He never fails to let me know.

The heart is just so sacred and so precious and I think more of us must learn how to protect it so that we don’t get caught up. We’d be better off if we were proactive about protecting our heart from harm in the beginning of any friendship or relationships rather than blindly hoping and being too trusting.

My heart goes out to people I know who didn’t guard their hearts and are now trying to figure out how to get that special piece of themselves back from someone who didn’t take care of it. My heart goes out to those who are in the position to give their heart to someone, I pray that you allow God to direct your path toward that decision and from there, if it is His will, you will not be scared to give fully to that other person. My heart goes out to those who are dying to give their hearts to someone…Be of good courage and know that your time is coming soon.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

