The Loudmouth Protestant

September 30, 2008

Don’t Forget to Remember (The Blessings List)

At about 4:30 this morning, a song came into my heart and it woke me up and wouldn’t let me go. It’s called, “Don’t Forget to Remember” by Donald Lawrence featuring Lalah Hathaway. The basis of this song is all about remembering where your blessings come from. I was struck by it early in the morning because we are in a time when many are worried about the future. People are worried about the financial markets, worried about their jobs, and worried about the future in general because for the past few weeks the only news we’ve been receiving is bad news.

As I lay there in my bed, I couldn’t get this off my mind, and I realized what I needed to do was provide an outlet for people to express their gratitude for the blessings they have heretofore–or at least remind them to make room for remembering. In reality, we can’t control what’s happening in the financial markets or even what will happen later on today on the Main Streets of our lives. But what we can control is our attitudes and the way we approach life from here on out. One of the most important things we can do right now is not forget to remember where our blessings come from and thank God for all that we have in this moment. Thank him for all that he did yesterday, all that he is doing today, and all that he will do in the time to come. We probably have every thing we need, we are just too caught up in our expectations to realize it.

So if you can, take a moment right now to tell God what you are thankful for. I’d love if you could leave word here, but if you don’t, just remember to spare a moment in your day to focus on the good in your life and the things you are grateful. I will start:

  1. I am thankful for my parents, who always help me to remember to enjoy life fully, but to always keep my eyes on God and help me to remember that their loving arms are always there for me to run to.
  2. I am thankful for friends, who in the little things they do and by essence of who God made them to be, have been a blessing in my life.
  3. I am thankful I have a roof over my head and food on my table and provisions with which to support those things as given to me by God.
  4. I am thankful for my church home, which has served as my refuge in times when I didn’t realize I even needed one. It’s been the one place where I could be my most authentic self and where I feel the most at home in a world where I am grasping at straws.

I have so much more to be thankful, but this is just the beginning. Share your blessings…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

