The Loudmouth Protestant

December 25, 2008

What After This?

Filed under: belief,christianity,God,Jesus — nickisym @ 5:00 pm
Tags: , ,

The presents are open, the carols have stopped, the Christmas tree is slowly turning brown and the stores are preparing for the onslaught of returns and gift card users and you wonder, what after this? I’ve long confessed that Christmas is my favorite time of the year but I hate that everything goes limp after the 25th. It’s the one time of the year when you can get most people to agree that Jesus was born if only for one day but after that it seems mere formality and people go back to business as usual.

This year, Christmas was different for me. Faced with the thought of not spending Christmas in a house but on a huge cruise ship that would travel the Caribbean Sea on the day of my Saviour’s birth was wigging me out. I wouldn’t wake up to a Christmas tree packed with gifts, or get to eat copious amounts of macaroni and cheese and pecan pie, nor would I make my annual pilgrimage to my best friend’s house to eat more food and fellowship with her and her family. This change in tradition weirded me out. I didn’t know what I would do with myself or how I would feel. But, as I woke up this morning, two things came to mind: the King is here and this is not the end of a season but the beginning of the best season we have as Christians.

You see, with Advent and Christmas ended, it signifies the closing of one chapter, but the opening of the most significant and wonderful story we have as Christians. Today, we were given the awesome gift of a child who had/has the government upon His shoulders. He is the child that was born to become the light of the world and the salt of the earth. This day marks that start of the ministry of the man who was sent forth to die for our sins. Today we acknowledge an awesome gift, but we should also prepare ourselves for the maturity of that gift and how it will play out in our lives for the next four months as we look forward to Lent, Easter and Pentecost.

Today I acknowledge the birth of Christ the Lord and know that this was the day that forever changed the lives of humanity. And to that end, the fanfare, the praise and worship shouldn’t end today. We can’t stop singing “O Come Let Us Adore Him” just because the stores have decided to stop playing it incessantly or it seems out of season. We must sing it because we still have an ever-living Saviour to adore. We made clear the path for Him to come and now we must walk with him on the path for the months to come as we relive his 30 years on ministry in mere months.

So I submit that today not be the end of your celebration or your worship of that baby in the manger. It’s far from over and really it’s just beginning. So come let us adore Christ that Lord and clear the way for Him to be with us henceforth now and forevermore.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

