The Loudmouth Protestant

December 27, 2008

Commonplace Sexuality

It has occurred to me that people take sex, sensuality and lasciviousness as a casual joke. From not considering whether one would prefer to save themselves for marriage, to watching suggestive things which further perpetuates the imagery of lust in the mind to simply just being in a world where you may try to avoid it but are constantly bombarded by sex, lust and lies.

I’ve always known this but it became alarmingly clear to me this past week while I was on a cruise with my parents. We attended one of those corny cruise shows with mediocre singing and dancing. It was a family show, but it didn’t stop the “Glory Dancers”–oh the irony–from swinging their hips in non-existent outfits and zipping down their tops to reveal their bras. So here I am at a show with my family and hundreds of other families and I couldn’t shake the image of these dancers who were being provocative all for the sake of a magic show. Or better yet, illusion. As I sat there, it occurred to me that no one was blinking an eye at this. No one seemed to be appalled–or maybe if they were they couldn’t exactly express their discontent right then and there. Is this what the world has come to?

The day after the show, as I sat on the promenade eating lunch, I watched countless numbers of little girls running around in bikinis that barely covered their pre-pubescent arses.

I then thought about how people my age treat sex and sexuality. It’s simply something to do and not anything to refrain and abstain from. It’s not sacred, it’s something you grapple for because you are in the presence of another relatively attractive human being. (Like sex is a necessity that they can’t live without.)

So here we are, a society where sex and sexuality has gone from being a physical manifestation of an emotion place to a means to an end of the beast of the flesh. I don’t claim to be the ultimate vestal virgin. I definitely have my strongholds in this area but I can’t see going any further in my personal walk with God by not taking heed to His word and His will for the single man and woman. I can’t be a full participant to the careless behavior of people who take more joy in fulfilling their flesh rather than crucifying it.

Seeing as though I just celebrated another birthday I certainly feel convicted and willing to go out on a limb in front of the cyber world to re-dedicate myself to absolute purity. Purity that involves feeding my spirit with more fruit than feeding my flesh with rotting meat. Purity that involves consecrating my mind and surrendering my body to God for His noble cause and not for my pleasure. Purity that involves my daily praying to God for a covering of protection for my mind, body, and soul because I acknowledge I can’t do this on my own.

Four days before 2008 is over, I pledge myself to purity instead of becoming a slave to commonplace sexuality. Will anyone join me?

3 Comments »

  1. I will join you in that pledge. Have a good one!

    Comment by Adam Smith — December 28, 2008 @ 12:41 am | Reply

  2. I couldn’t agree more! A big amen from me and thank you for your unabashed honesty. BTW… I really love reading your blog even though we don’t know each other. If you lived in Orlando we’d totally hang! 😉

    Comment by Andrea — December 28, 2008 @ 10:23 pm | Reply

  3. (chuckle)i will. but seriously im down.

    Comment by chin — December 29, 2008 @ 2:41 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

