The Loudmouth Protestant

January 6, 2009

Living Life on Purpose

Filed under: God,life,work — nickisym @ 12:10 am
Tags: , ,

Have you ever stopped to think about whether what you are doing is what you were called to do versus something you just do really well? I’ve been thinking about this alot lately and as of tonight I had the impetus to put this on file for many more people to duly consider it.

You see, I believe that I do many things well. I’m sure many of you have the same thought. For me, my “thing” is writing, it’s my passion and it’s a gift that I know has come from God and one that wasn’t fully revealed to me until about two years ago when I started tapping into this “thing” on a more consistent basis and really feeling wonderful about it. But now I wonder, “Where am I going with this “thing” this gift that God has given me? Am I Christian Spirituality writer? Am I a Women’s Interests writer? Am I an entertainment writer? I believe I can do all those things well, but God has a specific calling for me and I am making it my mission in life to discover what.

You see, it is my belief that you can be great at many things in life and that will serve you well in a very one-dimensional way. Like let’s take Beyonce for instance. She an entertainer which makes her great at singing and dancing simultaneously and she is also a relatively decent–which is translation for mediocre–actress but in this world with looks like her you don’t need talent. She got that “big break” as my Bible study teacher mentioned tonight. So, Ms. Knowles is great at singing, dancing, acting and designing impossibly hood-rich clothing and that’s all well and good according to worldly standards, but what of these things is she called to do and what is her true purpose on earth is the bigger question. Her voice seems to be a gift from God, but she has yet to use that gift toward her calling–thanks Ify! But what I do know is that once she starts doing what she was called to do with the gift that God gave her, she will change people’s lives because she will move from using her gift to glorify the gods of this world to using her gift to glorify the God almighty. She will go from existing as a superstar to truly living her life on purpose. She’s not there yet, but she can be and so can we.

Our time on this earth is short, too short for us to spend our time doing what we have not been called to do simply because we are too dull-minded to realize there is a big difference between the things we do well and the things we are called to do. My dance ministry had us answer this question a few months ago regarding our calling into the ministry. It took me awhile but then the light went off in my head that my being called to the ministry of dance was tied directly to my impact as a minister in the dance on the lives of those who see me. If I simply move beautifully, know how and when to point my toes, leap the highest, turn the fastest and dance like a dervish that is all well and good in the natural but I can cause no supernatural shift with that ability. It is just something I do well. Something I learned with the greatest level of proficiency. But, as a minister in the dance, called to dance, I know that my every move is a weapon of mass destruction in the face of the enemy. I know what it looks like for my hands to make the path straight for the Lord to enter, for my feet to move swiftly away from evil, for my countenance to be as though he has shined his face upon me and been gracious to me, for my heart to be overflowing with His love so much that I am almost ethereal in ministry. I know every time I step in front of the congregation is an opportunity for God to show His goodness through me, that he may dance through me so that no one will see me. I know that being called to be a minister in the dance means that it’s not only about the ministry that takes place in front of the congregation but the ministry of worship taking place every day of my life where worship is my lifestyle and I am protecting my body and constantly crucifying it for it is His temple and His possession. Whoo!

Ok, I got off track. But my real purpose in going there was to give legs–pun intended–to what it means to move in your calling as opposed to moving in what you simply do well. Moving in what you do well may produce results, but whose results are those and really, why does God care if it isn’t bringing people closer to entering His kingdom?

We are five days into the new year, six when some of you read this and probably further in for others. But it’s not too late to get yourself on track now and ask for your calling to be revealed to you. I suspect you already know what you do well, but from that pile of things you do well and that you are passionate about, what can God use to make His name glorious. Make 2009 the year you went from simply existing to living your life on purpose…For God.

3 Comments »

  1. Great post! Keep sharing your message of inspiration and encouragement.

    Comment by Dillon Burroughs — January 6, 2009 @ 1:53 pm | Reply

  2. Why is it a calling. Why isn’t life about just being?

    Is it always about a striving for something in order to do service to God? Perhaps God is just as pleased if we were to try and be good at being who we are right now.

    Enjoyed your post.

    Comment by greys — January 8, 2009 @ 6:31 pm | Reply

    • It is my belief that God wants us to spend our time on earth pursuing His life for us. For some of us, it may well be about “just being.” But there are those of us who are called to something higher than what we are doing now. There are people that have this inherent feeling, a prompting by the Holy Spirit, a pricking of their inner man that is telling them, “I have something else for you to do.” Jesus could have just been a carpenter, who could have just been a man, but God called him to an awesome ministry of reconciliation of mankind and without that, our lives wouldn’t be what they are now. This just came to me, but it’s like our repaying the debt. Now I know we could never repay it, but spending your life living on purpose according to God’s will for your life is what I believe He would be pleased with. There’s a chance that some of us may never get to discover our calling and this doesn’t mean God loves us any less, but in my heart of hearts, I know He requires more of me, so I am running toward that higher calling.

      Thank you for being transparent enough to share your thoughts on the topic.

      Comment by loudmouthprotestant — January 8, 2009 @ 6:51 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

