The Loudmouth Protestant

January 9, 2009

“Emotional Bullshit” Exposed

No I haven’t gone to cursing like a sailor. “Emotional Bullshit” happens to be the name of my first book for the new year. I’ve never really been into self-help books, but after reading Elle magazine’s field guide to the self-help books for the new year, “Emotional Bullshit” jumped out at me. Of every book in the feature, from de-cluttering your mindspace to finding out the truth about your professional self, “Emotional BS” was the book that resonated most with me. I wouldn’t typify myself as one with emotional problems, but maybe that in itself is a part of “Emotional B.S” which the author, Dr. Carl Alasko, breaks down into a toxic trio, denial, delusion and blame. Anyways, I’m not going to tell you all of my dirty little secrets, but know that I am certainly on the road to recovery.

So, I bring up “Emotional B.S” because I was reading it on the train this evening. I’m not bashful when it comes to the books I read on the train. I don’t try to cover up my book and bend the cover in such a way that hides the title as my sheepish commuter companions do. So tonight I didn’t bother to hide my book or my personal burden in life. While being so bold, a Brooklyn-bound yuppie woman craned her neck to look at the title. No sooner than she looked and saw the title, she leaned over to tell her yuppie husband what I was reading. She then looked at the book again–and I know all of this because I was looking at them through my peripherals–and turned back to her husband and whispered something to him and they both sort of laughed.

Here I am in the midst of reading a book about emotional b.s. while watching two yuppies full of the same b.s. try to convince each other that I am silly for reading the b.s. book in public and also subconsciously convince themselves that they aren’t full of the same b.s. that I am trying to rid myself of .

They didn’t have to say much, their whispering to each other and constant glancing in my direction said it all. Or did it say nothing at all and this was just really a test to see if I had fallen prey to my own internal b.s. of being delusional enough to think that perfect strangers would care enough to interrupt their conversation to talk about a woman they don’t even know and a book they probably just think has a funny title. 

Looks like I might have been more exposed than the book…

4 Comments »

  1. hmm…might have to add it to my readling list…think I’ll wait to you finish and offer a review.

    Comment by jazztheologian — January 10, 2009 @ 1:58 am | Reply

  2. I’ll definitely give a wrap up of the book. So far it is a good read that goes quickly because the writer doesn’t get too bogged down in shrink-y terms. He doesn’t really make me feel like I am reading a self-help but he definitely is making me tap deeper into the way I communicate with people and how I hold myself accountable for my actions in my professional and personal relationships. It has certainly given me a reality check whereas before I was always blaming someone else for the conflicts in our relationships now I can go back and see they were not the one to fully blame because I was carrying much of it too. More to come…

    Comment by loudmouthprotestant — January 10, 2009 @ 2:44 am | Reply

  3. Your comments so far are on track. Once you get to the antidote to Emotional BS, you might realize that by being “brazen” about your book reading is actually taking care of a Core Need, which is to be authentically yourself and NOT be overly influenced by what a stranger may or may not be thinking. In fact, those strangers may be so in awe of your “courage” that they just had to talk about it with each other.

    If you have any specific questions, write me at emotionalbs@gmail.com. And, of course, take a look at the website: http://www.emotionalbs.com

    Thanks, Carl Alasko

    Comment by Carl Alasko — January 14, 2009 @ 1:09 pm | Reply

  4. And I am inspired to read it now. I realize that maybe the start of my emotional b.s. is the thought that maybe I couldn’t benefit from the book. Realistically who couldn’t?

    Comment by Kristen Jason — January 14, 2009 @ 2:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

