The Loudmouth Protestant

January 12, 2009

Posthumous Pity Award

Filed under: Uncategorized — nickisym @ 2:41 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I am still reeling at the fact that Heath Ledger won the Golden Globe for Best Performance by an Actor In A Supporting Role in a Motion Picture for “Dark Knight.” It’s not that I think he didn’t deserve it–I guess in some way I don’t since I’m writing this post–but I am wondering if he were still alive would he have won it.

This is not rocket science to anyone who watches award shows, but just in case you’ve been hiding under a rock, there’s always been this tendency to give people who have died the awards they were nominated for thereafter. I used to think it was great. The stuff of sentimentality and true respect, but in this case, it skewed a little pitiful.

I respect Ledger’s performance as the Joker in “Dark Knight.” He was probably the best Joker I’ve ever seen. But I don’t think his was the best performance in the category. Two of the nominees in the category were worthy of the shaft–sure Tom Cruise played the hell out of his larger than life Jewish movie exec in “Tropic Thunder” and Robert Downey Jr. was the best white man playing a black man for a movie within a movie, but neither performance was so groundbreaking on its own. My bet was on Ralph Fiennes or Phillip Seymour Hoffman–moreso the latter because I loved “Doubt” and I think Hoffman is brilliant.

So Cruise and Downey had to know they weren’t going to get a GG for their performance, but Hoffman and Fiennes, two of the most incredible actors of our time, losing it to someone who isn’t alive to enjoy the honor. I just don’t know if I think it’s fair.

What do you think?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

