The Loudmouth Protestant

January 14, 2009

The Realest Thing I’ve Ever Heard…

Filed under: God,Jesus,life — nickisym @ 11:35 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I was sitting at my desk this afternoon, working and listening to my iPod, when Brenda Water’s “Absent from the Body: Present with the Lord” came on. It’s not my favorite song of hers and maybe it’s mostly because it’s about death. But despite my not liking the song, the concept of being absent from the body and present with the Lord is such a beautiful one. I believe I saw it best put by David A. Silva the author of “Sacramental of Life” who said, “…not only do our loved ones continue to exist but they also continue to be loved and cared for. Our loved ones may be cut off from our presence, but they are not cut off from God’s presence.”

When thinking of death, thoughts often go to the thereafter, whether it be heaven or hell. In Waters’ song, the words “Everyone talkin’ ’bout heaven ain’t going there” repeats in the background. A little intense? Sometimes it makes me feel like she is being way too intense and hasty with her words. Unfortunately–or fortunately–she’s not being hasty with her words. The reality is Waters wasn’t the first person to say that, Jesus was. He said in Matthew 7:21, “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.”

It’s a hard reality to consider the fact that there are people you know–people I know–who are living a “good life” by worldly standards but not living the God life. They are doing just enough to get by without having to surrender themselves and truth is, play time is over. I’m no Nostradamus predicting that the world will come to an end in 2012–which I feel certain that it won’t since by biblical standards we know that no one will know the day or hour. But what I’m saying is, the time is now to get yourself right. It’s never too late. Stop crying “Lord, Lord” just when you need Him. Stop crying “Lord, Lord” on the Sundays you decide to go to church. Stop crying “Lord, Lord” when you don’t even understand the depths of what it means to call it His name and the power within it to heal, save and deliver. It’s time to get real. I didn’t intend for this post to turn out preach-y, but I see that’s where it went and I am sure it went that way for a reason. 

If you don’t know, now you know…(For all the folks running out to see “Notorious” this weekend. He’s gone, so what are you going to do with what’s left of your life?)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

