The Loudmouth Protestant

February 4, 2009

Pious Apparel

Filed under: christians,God — nickisym @ 11:35 pm
Tags: ,

Thanks to one of my favorite snarky blogs, I found out about the Passion 4 Christ Movement, a ministry of youth and young adults seeking to spread the message by Christ by any means necessary. Their latest tactic, a new shirt in their “Ex” shirt series entitled the “Ex-Masturbator” shirt.  I decided to take a look at their site and see what they were talking about. In taking a look, I saw that the best piece of marketing for the shirt that they have is the video below:

It’s not about the in-your-face notion of people wearing a shirt that says, “Ex-Masturbator” but about the intent behind it. From this video, I saw young people that look like me, with struggles like mine, not afraid to go out on a limb and wear their strongholds on their chests. Sure, it’s a really bold way to put yourself out there, but can you image the number of people who will stop these kids and ask them about the meaning behind the shirt. Therefore giving a tight-lipped teen who would be otherwise afraid to roll up on someone and talk about the transforming power of Jesus a real opportunity to share their testimony. 

This fits in so perfectly with what I learned in my Monday night Bible Study. The teacher gave us the setting of mannequins in a store window and the fact that mannequins exist to attract people to the glory in the store. When I see a mannequin standing in the window at Escada, I’m not thinking, “Wow that mannequin is wearing that dress!” I’m thinking, “Wow, I really need to go inside and see how that looks on me and maybe pick up a few other items that might be nice as well.” It’s the same thing with this Christian walk we are on. We are nothing but God’s mannequins, created to glorify Him–i.e. wear His glory–and therefore attract people to Him by being available for use. I, the Loudmouth Protestant, am nothing but a mannequin naked before God, created for Him to do what he wants me to do so that I may win people to Him.

So these shirts aren’t such a bad idea. I’d say that my qualm is, the shirt puts an absolute stamp on the wearer as if they may never fall into the trap of their stronghold again. I’m not being pessimistic, I’m just acknowledging that we all fall short of the glory of God and one shirt isn’t going to keep you from falling as much as an absolute dependence on God to keep you from falling. But that brings me to my last point about the Ex-series shirts. Once you put on the shirt and announce to the world that you used to masturbate–fornicate, be a slave, hustle, etc–while many will scoff at your piety, your brothers and sisters in the body of Christ will lift you up in prayer to ensure that you stay on the ex side of things.

So here’s to a good word getting out, a seed being planted and someone finding their way to Christ through someone who wasn’t afraid to show their true colors.

1 Comment »

  1. “Everything I wear, tailor-made or Ralph…” – Killa Mike. With so much on my plate, I ain’t the least bit concerned with the next person’s sins…but they get an A for effort. + That Monday Night Bible Study topic sounds on point! I’d definitely like to hear more about it and get the scriptures read.

    Comment by Chapzilla — February 11, 2009 @ 1:50 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

