The Loudmouth Protestant

March 9, 2009

Why Was He Slain?

Following a discussion about standing on God’s word and having faith that He can keep us beyond our circumstances, a friend asked me if I could shed some light on the church shooting in Illinois. Specifically, why did the pastor get shot when initially the Bible stopped the first bullet.

I was dumbfounded at the thought that the Bible shielded the first bullet but thereafter the bullet penetrated his flesh and he was murdered right before his congregation’s eyes. I didn’t take long to think about why it happened, I simply prefaced my statement to my friend saying, “This may be hard to swallow but, maybe it is possible this was his time to go. Just as God knows every second of our lives from start to finish and knows how we will leave this world, would it be so crazy to believe that this was God’s plan for Pastor Winters?” At my response my friend replied, “His plan was to have him shot to death, that seems kind of brutal.” And just like that, my response came like lightning, “Did God not send his only begotten son to walk down the Via Dolorosa to be crucified on a cross and die for the sins of perfect strangers in front of His followers.” Should we be so surprised that modern-day martyrs exist? Now that’s one side of the story. Maybe Pastor Winters wasn’t a martyr and there’s a part of the story that we don’t know. It will be interesting to see how this unfolds…

I acknowledge this is no time to speculate on the 5W’s and the H. These are all just interesting thoughts I had in the course of 30 minutes this evening. So I’ll assume my rightful position, one of prayer–isn’t it always. Prayer for the Winters’ family, prayer for the Sedlacek family, pray for the suspect, Terry Sedlacek, pray that the congregation can recover and heal from this. Just prayer.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

