The Loudmouth Protestant

March 11, 2009

Should I Be Happy?

Filed under: randomness — nickisym @ 1:22 pm
Tags: , ,

Last night as I rode the subway home from a meeting, I took my seat in the middle of a condom cipher. Yes,  a condom cipher. When I sat down, I was across from two teenagers, a boy and a girl, who were sitting across from two of their friends who were standing in front of the subway car doors. This set of parallel teenagers each had condoms in their hands and were exchanging them with other by airborn express. The pair I was sitting across from were remarking on how cool they thought it was that their friend’s school handed out condoms in bulk. But these were not just any kind of condoms, they weren’t the standard NYC condoms that they dispense at clinics and public schools, these were flavored condoms-vanilla and mint, ribbed condoms, warming condoms, big condoms and little condoms. I couldn’t believe my eyes nor what my ears were hearing. (So not only is the school encouraging teenagers to have sex, but also for them to be quite explorative with it as well.) Not only that, they were talking about how they would use them. The boy in front of me begged his friend for more because he said it’s not about one round, it’s all about two rounds per girl. Next to him, the girl who could have only been about 15 and was quite awkward, begged for some and denied the NYC condoms because she thought they were cheap. This discourse on condoms, who would take which flavor, which colors they wanted and where they would use it–Las Vegas on a balcony-went on for quite a while. I thought I had heard it all until the babe–as in baby-said, “I gotta have fun while it last, I’m a junior, so there ain’t much time left.”  

I didn’t know what to do after that. At that moment I wished I had the courage to tell him I had just come from a meeting where I learned that 80% of teenage women in South Africa have had sex-some of these probably from rape-and 37% of them have been pregnant and a large percentage of them will be infected with the HIV/AIDs virus because they probably had the same notion as he did, “There ain’t much time left.” And really, they probably didn’t because they are living an entirely different life with not nearly as many opportunities as American children are afforded yet this young man feels he’s got to get it in lest he run out of time-and he was only 16 or 17.

So that was my disturbing evening commute on the 4 train last night. Along with hitting myself for not having the holy boldness to go upside those kids heads in the name of Jesus, I wondered if I was being too fundamentalist  in wanting them to abstain from sex completely until marriage rather than be happy that they were using protection. Do I pray over the fact that they are having sex and pray that the cheap NYC condoms don’t break and create a child amongst a child or do I pray that they will realize that they shouldn’t spill their waters in the street and keep their legs and mouths closed until they entered the sacred covenant of marriage? Should I just be happy they are using protection and not even worry myself about this at all? What do you think?

1 Comment »

  1. […] by Jonathan on March 12, 2009 To answer The Loudmouth Protestant’s question, Yes, you should be happy! Kids who can safely explore pleasureable sex and receive sex-positive […]

    Pingback by Some cities get it, some people don’t « Condomologist — March 11, 2009 @ 10:53 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

